Dovizioso takes pole position in Qatar

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 28 Mar 2015

Dovizioso took the first pole of the year

Andrea Dovizioso stormed to the first pole position of 2015 this evening in Qatar, taking advantage of the softer tyre to outrank the Repsol Honda duo of Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez.

Marquez had led all timed free practice sessions before Iannone and Dovizioso locked out free practice four after sticking in the soft tyre Ducati is able to use through their no-win-in-two-years concession.

The benefit of the softer tyre was shown in the first qualifying session, with Pramac Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci storming to the top spot to take one of the two final places in the final fifteen-minute shootout for pole. Bradley Smith joined the Italian in Q2 after a last ditch attempt saw him steal second from Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales.

Dani Pedrosa led the way early on in Q2, setting the fastest lap of the weekend in just his first flier. Marquez got close to his teammate but couldn’t quite edge him out. 

Dovizioso though, had other ideas. The Italian set a fastest lap of 1’54.113 to go an impressive 0.2sec ahead of Pedrosa and give Ducati’s Desmosedici GP15 its first ever pole position.

Iannone heads up the second row ahead of Yonny Hernandez, who had an impressive ride to fifth, with Jorge Lorenzo top Yamaha in sixth. 

Smith leads row three ahead of nine-times world champion Valentino Rossi with Danilo Petrucci and Pol Espargaro rounding out the top ten. Aleix Espargaro didn’t have as much joy with the softer tyre as the Ducati’s, the Suzuki man ending the session in eleventh ahead of Britain’s Cal Crutchlow who crashed out in with several minutes to go.

Scott Redding qualified 14th with Eugene Laverty 19th. 

MotoGP Qatar – Qualifying Times 

1)   Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team – 1’54.113

2)   Dani Pedrosa – Repsol Honda Team – 1’54.330

3)   Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda Team – 1’54.437

4)   Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team – 1’54.521

5)   Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati – 1’54.675

6)   Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha – 1’54.711

7)   Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha – 1’54.732

8)   Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha – 1’54.851

9)   Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Ducati – 1’54.876

10)  Pol Espargaro – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha – 1’55.004

11)   Aleix Espargaro – Team Suzuki Ecstar – 1’55.035

12)   Cal Crutchlow – CWM LCR Honda – 1’55.123

13)   Maverick Vinales – Team Suzuki Ecstar – 1’55.246

14)  Scott Redding – Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS – 1’55.428

15)  Hector Barbera – Avintia Racing – 1’55.604

16)  Mike di Meglio – Avintia Racing – 1’55.729

17)  Nicky Hayden – Aspar MotoGP Team – 1’55.756

18)  Stefan Bradl – Athina Forward Racing – 1’55.791

19)  Eugene Laverty – Aspar MotoGP Team – 1’55.848

20) Karel Abraham – AB Motoracing – 1’55.892

21)  Alvaro Bautista – Aprilia Racing Team Gresini – 1’56.187

22)  Jack Miller – CWM LCR Honda – 1’56.287

23) Loris Baz – Athina Forward Racing – 1’56.454

24) Alex de Angelis – Octo Ioda Racing Team – 1’56.793

25) Marco Melandri – Aprilia Racing Team Gresini – 1’57.934


Latest Racing News
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • World Superbikes Round 5 Assen TV Times_Thumb2
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • motogp_assen
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • isle of man tt races
    Major changes confirmed for the Isle of Man TT Races