2019 Torrens Trophy nominees announced

Torrens Trophy


The Royal Automobile Club took to the main stage of Motorcycle Live last week to reveal the contenders for the 2019 Torrens Trophy.

The Trophy is awarded to an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution in the United Kingdom to:

• The cause of safe and skillful motorcycling

• Technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling

• Showing outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

Last year the worthy recipient of the Torrens Trophy was British speedway ace Tai Woffinden for winning his third Speedway World title and becoming the most successful British speedway rider in history. This year, the shortlist of nominees for the Torrens Trophy is:

Peter Hickman: The new king of the roads – Hickman’s three 2019 Isle of Man TT victories on BMW and Triumph machines were pure poetry.

Scott Redding: Dropped by MotoGP, Redding came out fighting in 2019 to dominate Bennetts BSB and gain a 2020 Ducati factory World Superbike ride.

Triumph Motorcycles: Arguably Britain’s greatest manufacturing success of recent decades, Triumph is now engine supplier for the Moto2 World Championship.

The Club's Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee consists of Chairman and ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, Royal Automobile Club Chairman Ben Cussons, well-respected motorcycle journalist and TT winner Mat Oxley, commentator and former racer Steve Parrish, Club member Richard Bourne (son of motorcycle journalist, Arthur Bourne, in memory of whom the Trophy is awarded) and Queen of Bikers Maria Costello MBE who has held the Guinness World Record for being the fastest woman to lap the Isle of Man TT course.

The winner will of this year’s Trophy will be announced early in 2020 at the Club’s historic Pall Mall clubhouse.


Latest News from Bike Social

Latest News

  • Brexit eu uk free trade agreement_THUMB
    Will prices go up after Brexit? Motorcycling and the EU trade agreement
  • 740x444_Red and White
    Torqueing Heads #5 Vlogging special
  • CFMoto 300SR thumb
    CFMoto 300SR hits the UK in April
  • guzzi centenario thumb
    ‘Centenario’ models mark 100 years of Moto Guzzi