Sykes shatters lap record to take pole at Donington

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 23 May 2015

Sykes took pole at home

Tom Sykes obliterated his opposition at Donington Park this afternoon to take pole position by 0.3 seconds ahead of Jonathan Rea and Davide Giugliano.

In the first session, World Champion Sylvain Guintoli secured his spot in Q2 with Kawasaki’s David Salom just nudging out Red Devils Aprilia rider Jordi Torres.

Q2 got underway with Alex Lowes setting the early pace ahead of Tom Sykes and Chaz Davies with a lap time of 1’27.670, just 0.3 off Sykes’ 2013 lap record.

Lowes set the early pace

After the pitstops Haslam took over at the top, closing in on the lap record which was then broken by Ducati’s Giugliano. The Italian’s stint on pole didn’t last long however as Sykes shattered the lap record by almost four tenths to secure his second pole of the season.

Championship leader Jonathan Rea will start second on the grid after being unable to match his teammate, with Giugliano completing the front row.

Haslam leads an all-British second row ahead of Lowes and Davies, with Camier, Biaocco and Guintoli lining up on row three.

World Superbike Donington – Qualifying Times 

  1. Tom Sykes – Kawasaki Racing Team – 1’27.071
  2. Jonathan Rea – Kawasaki Racing Team – 1’27’308
  3. Davide Giugliano – Ducati – 1’27.344
  4. Leon Haslam – Red Devils Roma Aprilia – 1’27.535
  5. Alex Lowes – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – 1’27.554
  6. Chaz Davies – Ducati – 1’27.710
  7. Leon Camier – MV Agusta Reparto Corse – 1’28.011
  8. Matteo Biaocco – Althea Ducati – 1’28.188
  9. Sylvain Guintoli – PATA Honda – 1’28.370
  10. David Salom – Pedercini Kawasaki – 1’28.620
  11. Ayrton Badovini – BMW Motorrad Italia – 1’28.701
  12. Michael van der Mark – PATA Honda – 1’28.715
  13. Jordi Torres – Red Devils Roma Aprilia – Q1
  14. Nico Terol – Althea Ducati – Q1
  15. Leandro Mercado – Barni Ducati – Q1
  16. Roman Ramos – Go Eleven Kawasaki – Q1
  17. Christophe Ponsson – Pedercini Kawasaki – Q1
  18. Randy de Puniet – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – Q1
  19. Niccolo Canepa -  Grillini Kawasaki – Q1
  20. Santiago Barragan – Grillini Kawasaki – Q1


Latest Racing News
  • THUMB_2019_Isle_of_Man_TT_Lightweight_TT_025
    Lightweight Rules Shakeup | Isle of Man TT
  • 2021 Bennetts British Superbikes Calendar Announced_thumb
    British Superbike Calendar 2021
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage 2020 | Where & how to watch!
  • Bennetts Rewards members ask the questions to championship challengers Brookes, Iddon, G.Irwin, O’Halloran and Taz Mackenzie
    VIDEO Interview | 2020 BSB Final Five