Rea leads all British front row in Phillip Island after red flag

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 21 Feb 2015

Rea took a cheeky pole position

Jonathan Rea will start from pole position in tomorrow's two World Superbike races after a red-flagged superpole session. 

The Northern Irishman set the early pace ahead of Chaz Davies and Leon Haslam with things set to shake up was qualifying tyres went in at the mid-way point. However, with 03'50 to go, a heavy crash for David Salom brought out the red flag. Chaz Davies' posted the first qualifying flier to steal the top spot but the time was later disallowed as the red flag had come out before he completed the lap. 

Salom was carried off the track on a stretcher as Race Direction decided to end the season early. Cancellation of Davies' laptime left Jonathan Rea on pole position with the Welshman in second and Haslam third. 

Michael van der Mark placed fourth ahead of Alex Lowes and Nico Terol. Jordi Torres will start seventh ahead of 2013 and 2014 World Champions Tom Sykes and Sylvain Guintoli. 

Matteo Biaocco and Leandro Mercado topped the first Superpole session to go through and qualify 10th and 12th respectively.

Randy de Puniet, who slipped off late in the session, missed out on SP2 qualifying 13th for the races ahead of comeback king Troy Bayliss who was visibly wrestling the Ducati Panigale.

Superpole 1 was also briefly interrupted by a red flag for a small clear up operation after a crash from Pedercini Kawasaki’s Aussie Matthew Walters.

TV times for tomorrow's races can be found here

 World Superbike - Phillip Island - Superpole 

1. J. REA – Kawasaki Racing Team – 1’31.212

2. C. DAVIES – Ducati Superbike Team – 1’31.238

3. L. HASLAM – Red Devils Aprilia – 1’31.507

4. M. VAN DER MARK – PATA Honda – 1’31.613

5. A. LOWES – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – 1’32.042

6. N. TEROL – Althea Ducati – 1’32.081

7. J. TORRES – Red Devils Aprilia – 1’32.243

8. T. SYKES – Kawasaki Racing Team 1’32.265

9. S. GUINTOLI – PATA Honda – 1’32.446

10. M. BIAOCCO – Althea Ducati 1’32.841

11. D. SALOM – Kawaskai Racing Team - --:--



13. R. DE PUNIET – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – 1’31.885

14. T. BAYLISS – Ducati Team – 1’32.201

15. L. CAMIER – MV Agusta F4 – 1’32.668

16. J. METCHER – Kawasaki – 1’32.727

17. N. CANEPA – Hero EBR – 1’32.838

18.  S. BARRIER – BMW Motorrad Italia – 1’33.057

19. M. WALTERS – Pedercini Kawasaki – 1’33.477

20. R. RAMOS – Go Eleven Kawasaki – 1’33.716