Lee Johnston wins the 350cc Classic TT

Author: Bike Social reporter Posted: 26 Aug 2014

Lee Johnston wins the 350cc Classic TT

MV Agusta’s Lee Johnston has won this afternoon’s 350cc Classic TT race – thought to be the Italian marque’s first TT win since the early Seventies.

Following a 24-hour delay to the Classic TT schedule due to poor visibility on the Mountain Course yesterday, the three-lap 350cc race finally got underway at 12:00.

It was William Dunlop who led the field – having enjoyed a number of positive practice sessions aboard the Honda all week. However, team-mate Alan Oversby had taken over the mantle by Ramsey – later going on to set a 103.624mph lap record. Meanwhile, Johnston had edged his way into third on the MV.

Alan Oversby finishes second

Just ahead of the pits, Michael Dunlop (Norton) and Saturday’s Bennetts 500cc race fourth place finisher Connor Behan (Honda) both retired.

Johnston went on to be fastest through the Grandstand speed trap with 121.5mph, and managed to work his way up to second position by Glen Helen on lap two (just 6.988s behind Oversby). W. Dunlop dropped back to third.

Roy Richardson finishes third in today's 350cc class

At the Ramsey Hairpin, Oversby was hanging onto his lead by just 2.393s from Johnston. However, the MV Agusta man had edged in front by the Bungalow, and, opting not to make a pit stop going into the third lap, Johnston set a new lap record of 105.239mph.

Ian Lougher finishes fourth in the 350cc Classic TT

After W. Dunlop retired at Douglas Road Corner, Roy Richardson was promoted to third from Bennetts 500cc winner Ian Lougher in fourth – positions which remained constant until the chequered flag.

Final results - 350cc Classic TT (3 laps)

1. Lee Johnston

MV Agusta


104.134 mph

2. Alan Oversby

1972 Honda 350 - 4


102.942 mph

3. Roy Richardson

1968 Aermacchi Ala D'Oro 349cc


101.942 mph

4. Ian Lougher

1972 Honda K4


101.084 mph

5. Jamie Hamilton



100.247 mph

6. Chris Swallow

1969 Aermacchi Ala D'Oro


100.083 mph

7. Philip McGurk

2014 Honda K4 Drixton


97.857 mph

8. Doug Snow

1967 Ducati Sebring 340cc


97.754 mph

9. Oliver Linsdell

1972 Honda 350 K4


97.705 mph

10. Paul Coward

Honda K4 349cc


97.541 mph


To add a comment to this article, please  or !