Classic TT: Harrison takes 500cc victory

Author: Rachael Clegg Posted: 29 Aug 2015

Harrison won the 500cc race

Dean Harrison blasted to victory through a field of one, two, three and four cylinder machines in the Bennetts 500cc Classic TT race today.

The Yorkshire rider finished with a 26-second lead ahead of Ian ‘Lucky’ Lougher and a 0.4 second lead on Lee Johnston.

But the race wasn’t so close at the start. Harrison, on an 1967 MV Agusta with MV Mechanica Verghera Racing, had a 15.88 upped his pace and reduced the gap, beating Harrison’s lap time by a second.

Lougher said: “I was dicing with Dean on the mountain towards the end of the race and that was great. The Paton and the MV are very similar machines in terms of power and that made it a really good race.”

Harrison said: “The MV never missed a beat and I just rode it how I felt all the way around.”

Lougher finished second

Harrison - one of the Mountain Course’s rising stars - said: “A bike’s a bike at the end of the day, whether it’s a modern bike or a classic machine but you have to respect it.”

Lougher, though a TT veteran, hadn’t raced a motorbike since April this year. He said: “A lot of the lads are top TT riders and have recently raced here but I retired from TT racing two years ago.”

Indeed, Harrison’s TT practice paid off, winning the race with Lougher finishing second and Lee Johnston finishing third, also on an MV Agusta.

The line-up of machines in the Bennetts-sponsored race is the stuff of a classic motorcycle enthusiasts’ dream, among the bikes on the grid were BSAs, Matchlesses, Royal Enfields,

Patons, Hondas, Nortons and Drixtons. Lougher said: “It’s not like the TT and it is more a fun thing than a serious race but at the same time you still want to win. The only difference I’m not going to power through a wall for the sake of it.”

John McGuinness had taken the early lead but was forced to retire. 

1. Dean Harrison - MV Agusta 
2. Ian Lougher - Giovanni Cabassi Flitwick Motorcycles Paton 
3. Lee Johnston - MV Agusta 
4. Jamie Coward - Craven Honda 
5. Chris Swallow - Norton 
6. Keith Amor - Manx Norton 
7. David Madsen-Mygdal - Team Gimbert Racing Honda 
8. Ivan Lintin - Seeley 
9. Wattie Brown - Norton 
10. Philip McGurk - BSA 

Latest MotoGP News
  • 23-time TT winner, John McGuinness, returns to the road racing scene for 2020 on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki
    McGuinness confirms Kawasaki Isle of Man TT ride
  • GALLERY – RST Superbike Race 1 (2019)
    CONFIRMED - TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2020
  • James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
    James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
  • OFFICIAL - Davo Johnson joins OMG Racing for roads campaign in 2020
    Davo Johnson joins OMG Racing on the roads in 2020 | Road Racing