2017 Isle of Man TT: Norton's David Johnson starts first, McGuinness from fifth


The Isle of Man TT will this year, for the first time since 2013, see John McGuinness absent from the number one starting position, the race organisers have gifted the coveted number one slot to David Johnson’s Norton for both the RST Superbike and PokerStars Senior TT races.

The chance to lead the field down Bray Hill is reward for the team’s hard work and the progress made in the past 5 years. The Norton SG series of TT motorcycles have gone from lapping near the back of the field and battling mechanical problems to the Aprilia powered SG5 race bike lapping at 130.8mph in the Superbike Race last year.

In fact, emphasising the strength of the field this year, nineteen of the top twenty riders have lapped at over 128mph and those riders have accumulated 71 TT wins and 195 podiums between them.

23-time TT winner John McGuiness starts fifth with 14-time TT winner Ian Hutchinson ahead in fourth and outright lap record holder Michael Dunlop in sixth aboard the brand-new Bennetts Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Kiwi Bruce Anstey will be starting from the number two slot aboard the Honda RCV213V for the Padgetts’ team. This will be the team’s second assault at the TT aboard the MotoGP inspired Honda which had mixed fortunes on the island last year.

Connor Cummins, who has started at number ten for the last eight years, gets moved up the order to number seven. With everybody’s favourite ‘truck mechanic’ Guy Martin making a return to the Mountain Course for 2017 with the Factory Honda team, starting from eighth place. Martin is followed by Dean Harrison and Peter Hickman who round out the top ten.

Michael Dunlop races for the Bennetts Suzuki by Hawk Racing Team in 2017 at the Isle of Man TT

The Isle of Man TT races begin on the 3rd of June and run until the 9th of June. Follow the races live @bennetts_bike and for more information head to www.iomtt.com

Top 20 Starting Positions look like this: 





David Johnson



Bruce Anstey

Padgetts Honda


James Hillier

JG Speedfit Kawasaki


Ian Hutchinson

Tyco BMW


John McGuinness

Honda Racing


Michael Dunlop

Bennetts Suzuki


Conor Cummins

Padgetts Honda


Guy Martin

Honda Racing


Dean Harrison

Silicone Engineering Kawasaki


Peter Hickman

Smiths Racing BMW


Michael Rutter

Bathams/SMT Racing BMW


Gary Johnson



Lee Johnston

Jackson Racing Honda


Dan Kneen

Penz13.com BMW


William Dunlop

Halsall Racing


Josh Brookes



Steve Mercer

Devitt RC Express Kawasaki


Martin Jessopp

Riders Motorcycles BMW


Dan Hegarty

Top Gun Racing


Ivan Lintin

Devitt RC Express Kawasaki


Ian Hutchinson, 14-times TT race winner, here on the Tyco BMW in 2016
Latest News from BikeSocial

Latest News

  • As the government introduces new restrictions and lockdown rules for Covid-19, we at how they affect riders in England, Scotland, Wales & Ireland
    How new Coronavirus lockdown restrictions affect motorcycling
  • WSBK World Superbikes Calendar Tables Results TV Times
    2020 WSBK Calender, Championship Table and TV Times
  • Revised post covid MotoGP calendar
    2020 MotoGP Calendar, Championship Table and TV Times
  • BMW’s first ‘M’ bike – the M1000RR – is a 209bhp, 192kg street-legal WSB machine
    Official: BMW M1000RR