Byrne does the Thruxton double

Posted: 15 Apr 2013

Byrne Thruxton

Reigning British Superbike Champion Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has continued his title defence with a superb double victory at the second round of the 2013 series at Thruxton this weekend.

From his front row qualifying position, the Kawasaki rider clinched the holeshot in race one, before battling with Honda’s Alex Lowes and Suzuki’s Josh Brookes for the lead. The safety car was deployed on lap six after Keith Farmer crashed out of contention, but when the race resumed, Byrne was hungry for victory and crossed the line 0.301s ahead of second placed Brookes and third placed Lowes.

It was a similar story in race two, with Byrne again grabbing the holeshot and leading team-mate Keith Farmer and Lowes on the opening lap. However, in what turned out to be an incident-packed day at the Hampshire circuit, the safety car was deployed for a second time at the end of lap one, this time when triple BSB champion Ryuichi Kiyonari crashed out of contention. The Japanese rider will no doubt be disappointed with his performance in this year’s BSB so far, having hoped to return to the series and clinch his fourth British title.

When the action resumed, Byrne again took charge of the field, with Lowes running in second and James Ellison up to third by lap seven. However, the racing was disrupted again on the ninth lap when the safety car was deployed for a third and final time after an accident involving Kawasaki's Lee Costello.

The race was red-flagged on lap 13 when Karl Harris and Tommy Bridewell crashed out at Club, and the result was declared. Once again, Byrne had taken the well-deserved top spot, this time joined on the podium by Lowes in second and Ellison third, while Brookes was forced to settle for fourth.

Race one result

1.    Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
2.    Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.301s
3.    Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.663s
4.    James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +6.415s
5.    Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +6.533s
6.    James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +6.778s
7.    Karl Harris (PR Kawasaki) +8.464s
8.    Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda) +8.892s
9.    PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +9.553s
10.    Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +9.817s

Race two result

1.    Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
2.    Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.245s
3.    James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.656s
4.    Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.757s
5.    Michael Rutter (Bathams Honda) +1.819s
6.    Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.908s
7.    Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +2.173s
8.    Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +2.489s
9.    James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +3.274s
10.    Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +3.810s

2013 British Superbike Championship standings after Thruxton

1.    Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 91
2.    Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) 76
3.    Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 66
4.    James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) 51
5.    Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) 42
6.    James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) 27

Latest Racing News
  • MotoGP TV Times - Round 16 Emilia Romagno_thumb
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • BSB Brands Hatch TV Times_thumb
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • World Superbikes - Weekend TV Times - Argentina_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • new_bsb_supersport_rules_01
    Shake-up for 2022 British Supersport class confirmed