BSB battle is back this weekend!

Posted: 13 Jun 2013

Byrne wins, Knockhill

After more than a month out of action, the British Superbike Championship boys are heading back to the track this weekend for the fourth round of the series at Knockhill. However, while some may have used the break since the third round at Oulton Park to train, test or even rest, some of the championship’s leading contenders will only just be returning from the Isle of Man TT road races.

BSB veteran Michael Rutter will surely be heading to the Scottish circuit this weekend with renewed enthusiasm following his win in the SES Zero TT electric race last week, while TT newcomer Josh Brookes scored an impressive tenth place finish – and the fastest newcomers’ lap – in the Dainese Superbike race on the island. However, both riders, who are currently third (Brookes) and 15th (Rutter) in the overall BSB standings are turning their attention from the roads to the track for the double header at Knockhill. 

At the top of the leaderboard, Alex Lowes and reigning BSB Champion Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne will be battling it out for supremacy at the Fife circuit – just a single point separates the duo ahead of round four. Lowes will be feeling particularly confident ahead of the event, having scored his first win for the Samsung Honda team at Oulton Park in May, and he has also tested at Knockhill recently so will be familiar with the track layout. 

However, Shakey also has vast experience of the Scottish circuit, previously winning at the circuit (above), and will be looking to edge his way back up to the top of the standings and get that little bit closer to his fourth BSB crown…   

This weekend’s British Superbike Championship round takes place at Knockhill in Scotland (14-16 June). 

Latest Racing News
  • Maria Costello MBE chats to BikeSocial at the Classic TT
    Costello on the Classic TT
  • From the four races over the Isle of Man Classic TT weekend, here’s the breakdown of what can race in each class
    Classic TT 2019 | Classes Guide
  • Classic TT 2019 | Top 10 Ones to Watch
    Classic TT 2019 | Top 10 Ones to Watch
  • MotoGP [ Silverstone ] - Weekend schedule & TV times | BikeSocial
    MotoGP [ Silverstone ] - Weekend schedule & TV times