Big names line up for Stars of Darley 2013

Posted: 11 Oct 2013

John McGuinness tops the list at Darley Moor

The last event on Darley Moor’s 2013 racing calendar takes place this weekend seeing the closing races for the Darley Moor club racing championships and the two, ten lap “Stars at Darley” races famed for attracting stars from national and international racing to the Derbyshire circuit.

Topping this years line up is the Honda TT Legends pairing of John McGuinness and Michael Rutter. With twenty-three wins at the Isle of Man between them (twenty for McGuiness and three for Rutter) plus numerous other road and circuit racing accolades they’ll certainly be a tough pairing to beat. Twenty-eight time British Superbike race winner, Rutter has eight Stars of Darley victories to his name and will certainly be out to add to this tally.

Victorious in the races last year with Peter Hickman and Barry Burrell, Stuart Hicken’s Buildbase BMW squad will return to Darley with Richard Cooper, who took the trophy on the S1000RR in 2011. Cooper will be joined by Buildbase’s Superstock 1000 rider, Lincolnshire youngster, Lee Jackson who’ll be looking for his first taste of success at the Stars meeting.

The stars will be joined in the two ten lappers by a number of Darley Moor regulars looking to spice things up a bit.

Admission for practice on Saturday is available for just £6.00 for adults, £3.00 for Senior Citizens and free for children. For the races on Sunday tickets are £15 adults, £10 Senior Citizens and under sixteens go free.

Latest Racing News
  • John McGuinness and Guy Martin
    John McGuinness: “When they told me about Guy I nearly stuck my van through the hedge!”
  • Ducati GP17
    Ducati patents variable jet exhaust system
  • Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi
    Rossi and Vinales unveil 2017 MotoGP contender
  • Alberto Puig
    Puig: Dorna set to invest in next generation of British MotoGP talent