Marquez vs Redding dirt track fight this weekend!

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 11 Dec 2014

Imagine the world's best motorcycle racers head-to-head in a packed arena sticking bikes sideways at 70mph while locking elbows with their rivals, and you've got the Superprestigio dirt track race.

It kicks-off in Barcelona this weekend with a star-studded line-up including all three reigning FIM Motorcycle Grand Prix World Champions. Here’s a quick guide to the event, including all you need to know and how to watch it this weekend!

Marquez narrowly missed out to Baker earlier this year


The Superprestigio is a flat track race, first held in Barcelona in January 2014, involved a wide variety of racing stars from MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez to the AMA Pro Flat Track Champion Brad Baker. For those of you unfamiliar with flat-track racing, riders race around an oval track in a number of qualifying heats before the final to decide the eventual winner.

In the Superprestigio, any dirt track, motocross, enduro or supermotard bikes with dirt-track spec features can compete as long as they are powered by 4 stroke motors with a capacity above 250cc. They run Michelin Supermotard wet tyres.

Flat track race bikes have no front brakes, although unlike Speedway machines they are still fitted with suspension.

The main event is split into two classes, the Marc Marquez Superprestigio and the Open categories. The Superprestigio class includes any FIM World Championship road racers and the Open Class is for everybody else. The two classes are kept separate through qualifying and the finals until the big event, the 12 lap Superfinal in which the two classes go head to head.


The Superprestigio takes place this Saturday

This Saturday! The riders are permitted time to practice in the morning before the doors open for the main event at 16:30. The first Heats get underway from 18:30 with the first finals just before 8pm. The ‘super final’ which will see the likes of the Marquez bros and Rabat go up against Brad Baker, Jared Mees and Guy Martin is timetabled for 21:11.


Marc Marquez and Aleix Epsargaro earlier this year

There will be a stream online via the official website at and you can watch via your tellybox if you’re a BT Sport customer. The evening’s event will be shown on ‘BT Sport Extra’ which is accessible via the red button.


Last year MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez was narrowly defeated by AMA Flat Track champ Brad Baker and this time the young Spaniard will have his work cut out even more.

Brad Baker won last year


Not only is Baker back and keen to put on a repeat performance, reigning AMA Pro National Flat Track champion Jared Mees is joining the Washington resident on team USA. Mees, who had never flown outside of the United States before this event, reclaimed his Flat Track title this year after losing out to Baker in 2013. The American duo will be joined by 23-year-old Shayna Texter, the first woman to win a pro flat track race in the States.

It’s not just the flat-track pros Marquez will be worrying about either. The Repsol Honda man’s younger brother, reigning Moto3 World Champion Alex Marquez will line-up for this year’s event as will Moto2 World Champion Tito Rabat.

Can Marc Marquez win this year?


Despite not having ridden competitively at this kind of level since his retirement in 2008, triple World Superbike Champion Troy Bayliss will compete aboard his beloved KTM with many pundits tipping the Aussie as a dark horse for victory. Since retiring from racing, Bayliss has spent a lot of time riding dirt bikes and even though he’s more than twice the age of some of his rivals, he should not be ruled out.

Britain’s representation is led by our very own Scott Redding, who, as you’ll know, never needs much of an excuse to ride around sideways. After struggling with competitive machinery in MotoGP this season, Redding will be keen to show what he’s got to offer in battle with Marquez, who the Brit beat numerous times in the Moto2 category.

Joining in team GB is Tech 3’s Bradley Smith and World Superbike rider Christian Iddon. Also riding under the Union Flag is fans’ favourite Guy Martin, a man with 15 Isle of Man TT podiums to his name.

Other names of note include this year’s Moto2 runner-up Mika Kallio and 2010 Moto2 champion Toni Elias. A full entry list can be seen below.

Superprestigio class

93 Marc MARQUEZ (ESP) – MOTOGP – Double FIM Road Racing MotoGP world champion (2013, 2014)
53 Tito RABAT (ESP) – MOTO2 – FIM Road Racing Moto2 world champion (2014)
12 Alex MARQUEZ (ESP) – MOTO3 – FIM Road Racing Moto3 world champion (2014)
24 Toni ELIAS (ESP) – SUPERBIKE – FIM Road Racing Moto2 world champion (2010)
60 Julian SIMON (ESP) – MOTO2 – FIM Road Racing 125cc world champion (2009)
21 Troy BAYLISS (AUS) – SUPERBIKE – Triple FIM World Superbike world champion (2001, 2006, 2008)
38 Bradley SMITH (GBR) – MOTOGP
36 Mika KALLIO (FIN) – MOTO2
5 Johann ZARCO (FRA) – MOTO2
94 Jonas FOLGER (GER) – MOTO2
19 Xavier SIMEON (BEL) – MOTO2
88 Ricard CARDUS (ESP) – MOTO2
9 Kenny NOYES (USA) – MOTO2
81 Jordi TORRES (ESP) – MOTO2
91 Gabriel RODRIGO (ARG) – MOTO3
11 Albert ARENAS (ESP) – MOTO3
99 Christian IDDON (GBR) – SUPERBIKE

Open Class

6 Brad BAKER (USA) – FLAT TRACK – AMA Pro Grand National Flat Track champion (2013) / I Superprestigio Dirt Track winner
1 Jared MEES (USA) – FLAT TRACK – triple AMA Pro Grand National Flat Track champion (2009, 2012, 2014)
50 Shayna TEXTER (USA) – FLAT TRACK – first woman to win AMA Pro Singles Main
610 Joonas KYLMAKORPI (FIN) – LONG TRACK – 4-time FIM Long Track world champion (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)
25 Ivan CERVANTES (ESP) – ENDURO – 4-time FIM Enduro world champion (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009) / 2009 FIM Indoor Enduro World Cup winner
111 Tadeusz “Taddy” BLAZUSIAK (POL) – SUPERENDURO – 5-time FIM Superenduro world champion (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014)
4 Thomas CHAREYRE (FRA) – SUPERMOTO – 3-time FIM Supermoto S1 world champion (2010, 2012, 2014)
8 Guy MARTIN (GBR) – ENDURANCE – 2013 Le Mans 24-hour endurance race, 2nd / 15 podium appearances Isle of Man TT race
3 Jose Pedro GOMEZ (ESP)
– SUPERMOTO – Qualified for Superfinal I Superprestigio
14Tim NEAVE (GBR) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 British Dirt Track Championship, champion / 2014 Dirt Track Festival Noyes Camp winner
90 Aidan COLLINS (GBR) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 British Dirt Track Championship, runner-up / 4-time British Dirt Track champion (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)
68 Tom NEAVE (GBR) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 Dirt Track Festival Noyes Camp, runner-up / 2014 British Dirt Track Championship, 3rd
30 Alan BIRTWISTLE (GBR) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 Dirt Track Festival Noyes Camp, 3rd / 2014 British Dirt Track Championship, 4th
28 Oliver BRINDLEY (GBR) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 British Dirt Track Championship, 5th
10 Francesco CECCHINI (ITA) – DIRT TRACK – 2014 FIM Flat Track Cup, champion
121 Fabrizio VESPRINI (ITA) – DIRT TRACK – double FIM Flat Track Cup champion (2012, 2013)
20 Jose Luis MARTINEZ (ESP) – MOTOCROSS – 2014 Copa Rodi Michelin Dirt Track, champion
66 Joel LOZANO (ESP) – MOTOCROSS – 2014 Copa Rodi Michelin Dirt Track, runner-up
13 Jaume GAYA (ESP) – SUPERMOTO – 2014 Copa Rodi Michelin Dirt Track, 3rd place
16 Angel GRAU (ESP) – SUPERMOTO – 2014 Copa Rodi Michelin Dirt Track, 4th place
17 Gerard BAILO (ESP) – SUPERMOTO – 2014 Copa Rodi Michelin Dirt Track, 5th place
77 Ferran CARDUS (ESP) – ROAD RACING – 2014 Dirt Track Festival Noyes Camp, 4th
18 Franc SERRA (ESP) – MOTOCROSS – 2014 Dirt Track Festival Noyes Camp, 5th
91 Raul CARDONA (ESP) – FLAT TRACK – 2014 Noyes Camp Pro Cup winner