Lorenzo victorious at Le Mans

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 17 May 2015

Lorenzo wins in Le Mans

Dovizioso led into the first corner from Lorenzo as Marquez ran massively wide into the first chicane, dropping back to fourth. Lorenzo took the lead into the second lap.

Returning to action for the first time since Qatar, Dani Pedrosa crashed at the Dunlop chicane in the early stages.

Rossi passed Marquez for fourth on lap three, before going on to shatter the lap record as he chased down the leading trio. Scott Redding’s tough start to the season continued as he crashed out on the Estrella Galicia Marc VDS Honda.

After running wide again, Marquez found himself in sixth place sandwiched between Smith and Crutchlow, until the Brit crashed out on lap seven.

Rossi took second

Rossi moved past Iannone into third on lap ten, still setting the pace he looked to get on Dovizioso and Lorenzo. The Italian took second just two laps later, with Lorenzo slightly etching a gap at the front.

Marquez woke up with six to go, charging past Bradley Smith before engaging in an intense battle for fourth with Iannone. 

Lorenzo was able to hold Rossi off until the end, with Dovizioso taking third ahead of Marquez who came out on top of the battle for fourth with Iannone. Bradley Smith took fifth ahead of his teammate Pol Espargaro. With Hernandez, Vinales and Petrucci rounding out the top ten. 

Rossi now sits 15 points ahead of Lorenzo in the championship standings. 

MotoGP Le Mans – Race Result

  1. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha
  2. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha
  3. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team
  4. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda
  5. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team
  6. Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  7. Pol Espargaro – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  8. Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati
  9. Maverick Vinales – Ecstar Suzuki
  10. Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Ducati
Championship Standings

1 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 102
2 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 87
3 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 83
4 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 69
5 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 61
6 Cal CRUTCHLOW Honda GBR 47
7 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 46
8 Pol ESPARGARO Yamaha SPA 35
9 Aleix ESPARGARO Suzuki SPA 31
10 Maverick VINALES Suzuki SPA 27


Latest Racing News
  • Eight days of digital content across 6th – 13th June during what would have been Isle of Man TT race week
    ‘Lock-In’ Isle of Man TT 2020 details announced
  • As the British Superbike Championship confirms the continued suspension of event permits, Snetterton is the latest round to be postponed.
    BSB update: 2020 calendar due early June
  • Official: 2020 Classic TT Cancelled
    2020 Isle of Man Classic TT Cancelled | OFFICIAL
  • The reigning Isle of Man TT lap record holder said about the Classic TT, “it’s definitely worth me looking at doing it”, if it goes ahead.
    Hickman keen on the Classic TT