Dominant victory for Lorenzo at Jerez

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 03 May 2015

Lorenzo took his first victory of the season

Jorge Lorenzo stormed to a dominant first victory of the season at Jerez this afternoon to beat the injured Marc Marquez. Championship leader Valentino Rossi took a solid third place.

Lorenzo led into the first corner ahead of Marquez, with Pol Espargaro getting a strong start from the second of the row to sit third ahead of Valentino Rossi.

Rossi moved through into third on lap three. With a point to prove having not been on the podium so far this season, Lorenzo took his chance at the front and began to build a gap. After twelve laps, the Spaniard had almost four seconds on Marquez.

Third place man Rossi upped the pace at the mid-distance as he looked to reel in the Repsol Honda of Marquez ahead. However, the Spaniard responded to etch out the gap in the closing stages to hold on to second place.

Marquez held on to second

Cal Crutchlow finished an impressive fourth ahead of Pol Espargaro and Andrea Iannone. Aleix Espargaro crossed the line seventh on the Suzuki ahead of Tech 3’s Bradley Smith.

Dovizioso took ninth after an early race excursion into the gravel with Yonny Hernandez rounding out the top ten. Vinales took 11th ahead of Danilo Petrucci and Britain’s Scott Redding. Hector Babrera and Alvaro Bautista took the final points in 14th and 15th respectively. 

Rossi now leads the standings by a clear 15 points ahead of Dovizioso. Lorenzo's victory moves him into third place, some 20 points behind his teammate. Marquez is now 26 points behind the leader. 

MotoGP Jerez – Race Results 

  1. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha
  2. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda
  3. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha
  4. Cal Crutchlow – CWM LCR Honda
  5. Pol Espargaro – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  6. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team
  7. Aleix Espargaro – Ecstar Suzuki
  8. Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  9. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team
  10. Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati
  11. Maverick Vinales – Ecstar Suzuki
  12. Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Ducati
  13. Scott Redding – Estrella Galicia Marc VDS Honda
  14. Hector Barbera – Avintia Ducati
  15. Alvaro Bautista – Aprilia Racing Team
  16. Stefan Bradl – Athina Racing Forward Yamaha
  17. Nicky Hayden – Power Electronics Aspar Honda
  18. Eugene Laverty – Power Electronics Aspar Honda
  19. Marco Melandri – Aprilia Racing Team
  20. Jack Miller – CWM LCR Honda
  21. Alex De Angelis – Athina Racing Forward Yamaha
  22. Mike Di Meglio – Avintia Ducati 

Championship Standings
  1. Valentino Rossi – Yamaha – 82
  2. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati – 67
  3. Jorge Lorenzo – Yamaha – 62
  4. Marc Marquez – Honda – 56
  5. Andrea Iannone – Ducati – 50
  6. Cal Crutchlow – Honda – 47
  7. Bradley Smith – Yamaha – 36
  8. Aleix Espargaro – Suzuki – 31
  9. Pol Espargaro – Yamaha – 26
  10. Maverick Vinales – Suzuki - 20

 or !