Lorenzo shatters lap record to take pole in Brno

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 15 Aug 2015

Lorenzo shattered the lap record to take pole in Brno

Jorge Lorenzo will start tomorrow’s Czech Grand Prix from pole position after shattering the circuit’s lap record in qualifying. 

The Mallorcan’s time of 1’54.989 is the fastest ever two-wheeled lap recorded around the Brno circuit. 

Having won the last three Grand Prix, Marc Marquez will start second on the Repsol Honda ahead of Valentino Rossi, who secures his first front row start since Assen after a last-gasp attempt in this afternoon’s 15 minute qualifying shoot-out.

Andrea Iannone will start fourth after being knocked off the front row by Rossi’s final lap, with Bradley Smith and Andrea Dovizioso joining him on the second row. 

Rossi will start on the front row for the first time since Assen

Maverick Vinales leads row three on the Ecstar Suzuki ahead of Pol Espargaro and Dani Pedrosa, who is riding injured after his heavy crash in free practice two.

Having fought through from Q1, Cal Crutchlow will start tenth ahead of Hector Barbera and Yonny Hernandez.

Marc VDS Honda rider Scott Redding just missed out on a spot in Q2 and will start the race from 14th ahead of factory riders Aleix Espargaro and Stefan Bradl.

Brno MotoGP – Qualifying Results

  1. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha – 1’54.989
  2. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda – 1’55.063
  3. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha – 1’55.353
  4. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team – 1’155.390
  5. Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha – 1’55.460
  6. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team – 1’55.935
  7. Maverick Vinales – Ecstar Suzuki – 1’55.954
  8. Pol Espargaro – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha – 1’55.966
  9. Dani Pedrosa – Repsol Honda – 1’55.696
  10. Cal Crutchlow – CWM LCR Honda – 1’56.192
  11. Hector Barbera – Avintia Ducati – 1’56399
  12. Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati – 1’56.203
  13. Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Ducati – Q1
  14. Scott Redding – Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Honda – Q1
  15. Aleix Espargaro – Ecstar Suzuki – Q1
  16. Stefan Bradl – Aprilia Racing Team – Q1
  17. Mike Di Meglio – Avintia Ducati – Q1
  18. Loris Baz – Forward Racing – Q1
  19. Alvaro Bautista – Aprilia Racing Team – Q1
  20. Eugene Laverty – Power Electronics Aspar Honda – Q1
  21. 21. Nicky Hayden – Power Electronics Aspar Honda – Q1
  22. 22. Jack Miller – CWM LCR Honda – Q1
  23. 23. Alex De Angelis – IODA Racing – Q1
  24. 24. Claudio Corti – Forward Racing – Q1
  25. 25. Karel Abraham – Cardion AB Racing – Q1
     or ! 



Latest Racing News
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage 2020 | Where & how to watch!
  • Click here to discover an extensive library of Bennetts BSB videos, including exclusive interviews with riders, mechanics, team bosses & BSB official crew.
    ► VIDEO | 2020 Bennetts BSB Season Preview
  • The long-awaited 2020 Bennetts British Superbike season kicked off with an official pre-season test at Donington Park. Here are the results and photos
    BSB | Donington Park pre-season test results
  • The final race of the 2020 Bennetts BSB season is 10 weeks after the first but are the teams and riders prepared for such a tightly packed championship?
    How does a shorter BSB season affect teams and riders?