Marquez shatters opposition to take pole in Argentina

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 18 Apr 2015

Marquez took pole in Argentina

Marc Marquez stormed to pole position for the third round of the 2015 MotoGP World Championship in Argentina this afternoon, lapping half a second faster than his rivals.

Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro will start from second after an impressive run on the GSX-RR with Andrea Iannone completing the front row.

Bradley Smith and Hector Barbera progressed from Q1 into the final 15-minute shoot-out, but Smith’s Tech 3 teammate wasn’t so fortunate. Unable to string a fast lap together, Pol Espargaro could only manage the eighth fastest time in Q2 placing him 18th on the grid for tomorrow’s race. Aspar Honda’s Eugene Laverty impressed by setting the fourth fastest time in Q1 to place top open Honda, even out-qualifying Repsol Honda replacement rider Hiroshi Aoyama.

Espargaro took a strong second place

Marquez was untouchable in the Q2 session, consistently lapping faster than his rivals to take pole by a country mile.

Cal Crutchlow leads the second row in fourth ahead of Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Dovizioso. Danilo Petrucci took an impressive seventh ahead of nine-times world champion Valentino Rossi and rookie Maverick Vinales. Bradley Smith secured tenth ahead of Scott Redding and Hector Barbera.

MotoGP Argentina – Qualifying

  1. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda -1’37.802
  2. Aleix Espargaro – Ecstar Suzuki – +0.514
  3. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team - +.0.665
  4. Cal Crutchlow – CWM LCR Honda - +0.683
  5. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha - +0.683
  6. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team - +0.718
  7. Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Ducati - +0.984
  8. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha – +1.088
  9. Maverick Vinales – Ecstar Suzuki - +1.385
  10. Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha - +1.395
  11. Scott Redding – Estrella Galicia Marc VDS Honda - +1.578
  12. Hector Barbera – Avintia Racing - +2.724
  13. Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati – Q2
  14. Eugene Laverty – Aspar Honda – Q2
  15. Hiroshi Aoyama – Repsol Honda – Q2
  16. Stefan Bradl – Forward Racing Yamaha – Q2
  17. Karel Abraham – AB Motoracing – Q2
  18. Pol Espargaro – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha- Q2
  19. Alvaro Bautista – Aprilia MotoGP - Q2
  20. Nicky Hayden – Aspar Honda - Q2


  or !

Latest Racing News
  • WSBK TV Times Round 10 Jerez_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • Bennetts BSB TV Times Round 9 Oulton Park_thumb
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • Yamaha McAms 60th Anniversary BSB Livery BSB_thumb
    Yamaha’s special 60th anniversary racing livery and parade
  • MotoGP TV Times Round 14 Misano_thumb2
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!