Stunning Senior victory for John McGuinness

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 12 Jun 2015

McGuinness wins his 23rd TT

John McGuinness stormed to a dominant 23rd Isle of Man TT victory in this afternoon’s Senior TT, becoming one of the most successful riders ever in the blue riband race. 

The result sees McGuinness match Mike Hailwood in having seven Senior TT victories and silences doubters after a tough week at this year's event. 

The Morecambe Missile bolted out of the blocks on the first lap but it was Ian Hutchinson who led as they completed their first lap. However, a red flag for an incident involving Jamie Hamilton saw the race brought to a stop on the second lap as the leaders passed through Ramsey. 

McGuinness was on a mission as the race restarted just over an hour later over a four lap distance. The Honda Racing man shattered the Senior lap record from a standing start on the first lap to place ahead pre-race favourite Hutchinson.

McGuinness' charge didn't end there, he went on to shatter the outright lap record on the second lap with an average speed of 132.701mph. A moment for Hutchinson at signpost saw McGuinness lead the race by some 12 seconds into the pitstops. 

Meticulous as ever, McGuinness continued to build his gap leading by an impressive 17 seconds over the line on lap three - the biggest gap in any race throughout the 2015 TT. 

Hutchinson's Senior woes continued on the final lap as James Hillier moved past into second place. Guy Martin, who managed to join the elite 132mph club on lap 2, took fourth ahead of the injured Michael Dunlop in fifth. McGuinness' Honda Racing teammate, Conor Cummins rounded out the top six. 

Fastest ever newcomer Pete Hickman took seventh, with a new personal best lap time of 131.6mph ahead of Superbike race winner Bruce Anstey, Dave Johnson and Michael Rutter. 

Pokerstars Senior TT - Results

1. J. McGuinness - Honda Racing 
2. J. Hillier - Quattro Plant Kawasaki
3. I. Hutchinson - PBM Kawasaki
4. G. Martin - Tyco BMW 
5. M. Dunlop - Buildbase BMW 
6. C. Cummins - Honda Racing 
7. P. Hickman - RAF Reserves BMW 
8. B. Anstey - Valvoline Padgetts Racing 
9. D. Johnson - Smiths BMW 
10. M. Rutter - Bathams BMW

Latest IOM TT News
  • Peter Hickman, the Isle of Man TT lap record holder, commentates on a more pedestrian-paced closed-road lap offering his tips and advice
    Peter Hickman commentates on a much slower lap of the TT
  • Highlights of all the action from Oliver’s Mount in Scarborough. Here is how, where and when you can catch all of the racing from the comfort of your home.
    Oliver’s Mount Road Races – TV Guide
  • tt_tv_schedule_2020_thumbnail
    Isle of Man TT - TV Schedule 2020
  • Eight days of digital content across 6th – 13th June during what would have been Isle of Man TT race week
    ‘Lock-In’ Isle of Man TT 2020 details announced