Classic TT 2014: John McGuinness, Michael Dunlop, Guy Martin and Bruce Anstey all confirmed

  • Every top TT rider confirmed
  • Joey Dunlop theme
  • Past and present TT stars in Parade Lap include Carl Fogarty and Graeme Crosby
  • Charlie Williams to return after 30 years
  • IoM’s Minister of Fun says “we are working hard”!

The dust has hardly settled on the Sulby Straight or anywhere else on the Isle of Man for that matter after the 2014 TT, yet we are only 2 months away from the Classic TT and what a line-up there is already. With 35 TT wins between them, including 7 between them earlier this month, it’s Michael Dunlop, John McGuinness, Gary Johnson and Dean Harrison who lead the entries.

McGuinness on the 500cc Paton at Ginger Hall

 The 2014 Classic TT celebrates the incredible career of the late, great Joey Dunlop, winner of a record 26 TT’s. The organisers have promised a 1980’s theme throughout the whole festival with particular opportunities to don shell suits or double denim during Friday’s Paddock Carnival and the Classic TT Party on Saturday evening.

 While qualifying begins on Saturday 16th August, here is the schedule for the Bank Holiday race weekend:

 Friday 22nd August 2014:          

Classic TT Paddock Carnival

Saturday 23rd August 2014:      

Bennetts 500cc Classic TT Race (13.00)

‘Joey Dunlop-Road Racing Legend-The Rivals Parade Lap sponsored by the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company’

Classic TT Party

Sunday 24th August 2014:         

VMCC Festival of Jurby

Monday 25th August 2014:

Okells 350cc Race (10.15)

Motorsport Merchandise Formula 1 and Formula 2 Classic TT Race (13.30)

(l-r) Giacomo Agostini, Pauline Hailwood and John McGuinness

The inaugural Classic TT took place last year with one of the major highlights being the re-enactment of the infamous Giacomo Agostini v. Mike Hailwood race from 1967, although on this occasion the part of the late Hailwood was played by John McGuinness.

And it’s 42-year old McGuinness who’ll be joined by Ryan Farquhar on board the Team Winfield Paton’s in the Bennetts 500cc Classic TT Race as they bid to beat Olie Linsdell’s lap record of 111.660mph set last year during his race win.

Olie Linsdell wins the 500cc race in 2013

Other top current day names from the TT who will be racing on the 37.73 mile Mountain Circuit once again include:

Outright TT lap record holder Bruce Anstey, Guy Martin, William Dunlop, James Hillier, James Cowton, Olie Linsdell, Ryan Farquhar, Dan Kneen, Keith Amor, Dan Cooper, Lee Johnson, Jamie Hamilton, Jamie Coward and Russ Mountford.

Meanwhile, the Joey Dunlop Parade Lap will feature Carl Fogarty, Rob McElnea, Graeme Crosby, Mick Grant, Philip McCallen, Brian Reid, Ray McCullough, Mick Grant, Steve Cull and Paul Iddon.

David Cretney, MHK, the Isle of Man's Government's beautifully titled 'Minister for Fun' commented:

“The Classic TT was a resounding success last year and we are working hard to make sure than the 2014 event is even better. In the coming weeks we will be making a string of announcements about the racing line up we have been able to attract as well as the exciting plans we have for events away from the Mountain Circuit.”

Tickets for the VIP experiences, Grandstand tickets, Classic TT Heroes Dinner and Classic TT Party tickets can be purchased from or by calling 00 44 (0)1624 640000.