Mossey clinches maiden British Superbike win

Luke Mossey Brands Hatch

Luke Mossey takes his debut British Superbike Championship win with an impressive race one victory at Brands Hatch.

Despite a sluggish start from pole, James Ellison stormed his way to the front in the early stages of the race and set a blistering pace out front until a crash on at Druids put an early end to his race.

This left 24-year-old Mossey to inherit the lead on lap twelve, a lead which he continued to extend to the flag.

Championship leader, Leon Haslam, secured second place on the penultimate lap from Tyco BMW’s Christian Iddon, with local man Shayne ‘Shakey’ Byrne just missing out on the podium in fourth.  

Honda Racing’s Dan Linfoot rode to an impressive fifth aboard his new Honda Fireblade, with Irwin (sixth) and teammate O’Halloran (seventh).

Michael Laverty and his McAMMS Yamaha finished eighth, with Hickman and Brookes rounding out the top ten.  

Mossey after the race said: “I’m so happy to get this first race victory out the way. This makes all the blood, sweat and tears over the years worthwhile.”

“I wasn’t riding outside of my comfort zone in that race and feeling confident in the bike and the team for race two this afternoon.” 

Race two gets underway at 16.30 today with Ellison starting from pole position.

Race 1 Results:

1 12 Luke MOSSEY GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
2 91 Leon HASLAM GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
3 24 Christian IDDON GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad
4 67 Shane BYRNE GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
5 4 Dan LINFOOT GBR Honda - Honda Racing
6 2 Glenn IRWIN GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
7 22 Jason O'HALLORAN GBR Honda - Honda Racing
8 7 Michael LAVERTY GBR Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
9 60 Peter HICKMAN GBR BMW - Smiths Racing
10 25 Josh BROOKES AUS Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing
11 46 Tommy BRIDEWELL GBR Kawasaki - Team WD-40
12 28 Bradley RAY GBR Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki
13 21 John HOPKINS USA Ducati - Moto Rapido
14 96 Jakub SMRZ CZE BMW - Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW
15 6 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
16 14 Lee JACKSON GBR BMW - Smiths Racing
17 5 James WESTMORELAND GBR Kawasaki - Gearlink Kawasaki
18 3 Billy McCONNELL AUS Kawasaki - Quattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki
19 64 Aaron ZANOTTI GBR Yamaha - Platform Hire Yamaha
DNF 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA 14:00.349 12 Laps Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
DNF 77 James ELLISON GBR 8:24.555 7 Laps Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
DNF 27 Jake DIXON GBR 6:47.262 4 Laps Kawasaki - RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki
DNF 8 Shaun WINFIELD GBR 2:27.103 4 Laps Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing

Championship Standings:

Leon HASLAM (Kawasaki) 70
Luke MOSSEY (Kawasaki) 56
Christian IDDON (BMW) 45
Glenn IRWIN (Ducati) 36
Josh BROOKES (Yamaha) 35
Peter HICKMAN (BMW) 28
James ELLISON (Yamaha) 21
Jason O'HALLORAN (Honda) 21
Dan LINFOOT (Honda) 20
Michael LAVERTY (Yamaha) 16
Tommy BRIDEWELL (Kawasaki) 14
Shane BYRNE (Ducati) 13
Sylvain GUINTOLI (Suzuki) 9
Jake DIXON (Kawasaki) 7
John HOPKINS (Ducati) 6
Bradley RAY (Suzuki) 6
Jakub SMRZ (BMW) 5
Shaun WINFIELD (Yamaha) 1
Taylor MACKENZIE (Suzuki) 1