Oulton Park BSB: Byrne wins race one, Brookes fourth from back of the grid

Author: Oli Rushby Pics: Impact Images Posted: 05 Sep 2015

Byrne led from lights to flag

Shane Byrne took his 67th British Superbike victory at Oulton Park this afternoon, leading the race from lights to flag while championship rival Josh Brookes fought through from the back of the grid.

Having blown an engine in qualifying, Brookes shot off the line to make up a dozen positions in the first five corners while at the front, Byrne got off to the ideal start, leading into Old Hall bend from Tyco BMW’s Tommy Bridewell with James Ellison third.

Having seen Byrne build a one second lead in the first three laps, Bridewell upped the pace but as he closed in on the reigning champion a technical problem forced him out of the race.

James Westmoreland and Howie Mainwaring were early fallers, aiding Josh Brookes’ charge through the pack. By the eighth lap, the Aussie was on the back of the battle for fourth scrapping with potential showdown contenders Dan Linfoot and Luke Mossey. Brookes moved through on lap nine and maintained position despite a massive moment coming out of the Shell Oils hairpin.

Brookes charged from last to fourth

With clear track ahead, he tried to close on the leading trio but having set a lap fast enough to secure a spot on the front row of the grid for tomorrow’s race, he settled for a steady fourth place.

Riding with a broken wrist, James Ellison pulled in Byrne in the closing stages but the PBM Kawasaki man just had the edge, crossing the line less than second ahead of Ellison and Be Wiser Kawasaki’s Danny Buchan, who celebrated his first ever British Superbike podium finish.

Dan Linfoot took an important fifth place to increase his chance of a place in the showdown ahead of Quattro Plant Tec-Care Kawasaki’s Luke Mossey.

With Christian Iddon having crashed out in the closing stages, Richard Cooper beat team mate Lee Jackson to the line to take seventh, with the BMWs of Michael Laverty and Peter Hickman rounding out the top ten.


  1. Shane Byrne – PBM Kawasaki 28:48.122
  2. James Ellison – JG Speedfit Kawasaki +0.780
  3. Danny Buchan – Be Wiser Kawasaki +1.780
  4. Josh Brookes – Milwaukee Yamaha +4.421
  5. Dan Linfoot – Honda Racing +10.605
  6. Luke Mossey – Quattro Plant Tec-Care Kawasaki +10.820
  7. Richard Cooper – Buildbase BMW +11.590
  8. Lee Jackson – Buildbase BMW +11.671
  9. Michael Laverty – Tyco BMW +14.628
  10. Peter Hickman – RAF Reserves Briggs Equipment BMW +23.771

Latest Racing News
  • Honda to sponsor British Talent Cup
    Honda to sponsor British Talent Cup
  • Keeping close to its road going sibling, the BSB race livery is based on the Pearl Black colour scheme. See the full gallery here, plus the 2020 calendar.
    Honda Racing unveil 2020 Bennetts BSB livery
  • Revised post covid MotoGP calendar
    2020 MotoGP Calendar inc. MotoE
  • Moto Rapido’s Tommy Bridewell talks exclusively about more endurance racing, property development, brownies, V4R upgrades, WSBK chances, BSB 2020 calendar, his main competitors and plenty more
    Exclusive Tommy Bridwell video interview