Seeley equals Robert Dunlop record at North West 200

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 16 May 2015

Seeley won the only superbike race

Alastair Seeley has equaled Robert Dunlop’s North West 200 outright win record after a dominant week at the 8.970 mile circuit.

The Carrickfergus rider looked set to beat Dunlop’s tally of 15 victories until he was pipped to the post by Lee Johnston in the second Superstock race before being denied a final shot as the Vauxhall Superbike race was abandoned because of high winds.

Seeley got off to a strong start earlier this week securing a hat-trick of pole positions before going on to win Thursday night’s Supersport race and showing strong in a red-flagged Superstock battle. 

The re-run of that Superstock race was red flagged this morning after an incident on the second lap involving three riders. Dean Harrison was declared OK but Horst Saiger and Stephen Thompson were taken to hospital by ambulance. A female spectator is in a critical condition after getting caught up in the crash when one of the fallen bikes passed the safety fencing.

The race was abandoned, with the second Superstock battle to be run later in the day. Seeley became the event’s second most successful rider ever in the Supersport race, however, it didn’t come easy. Newcomer Glenn Irwin fought tooth and nail with the Tyco Suzuki man until the bitter end, with Triumph’s Lee Johnston never far behind.

Seeley won both Supersport races

It was in the Monster Energy Superbike race that Seeley matched Dunlop, taking victory over Ian Hutchinson who stepped on to the podium for the first time since 2010. Bruce Anstey finished third.

Johnston pipped Seeley in the re-run of the Superstock, with Hutchinson taking his second podium of the day for PBM Kawasaki.

Michael Dunlop’s International Roads debut with Milwaukee Yamaha didn’t go to plan, he failed to finish the Superbike race aboard Yamaha’s new R1 but did take a fourth-place on the MD Racing Yamaha in the Superstock class.

Jeremy McWilliams beat his KMR Kawasaki team boss Ryan Farquhar in the second of the Supertwins races.

Monster Energy Superbike Race


  1. Alastair Seeley – Tyco BMW
  2. Ian Hutchinson – PBM Kawasaki
  3. Bruce Anstey – Valvoline Racing by Padgetts
  4. Lee Johnston – ECR/Burdens BMW
  5. Michael Rutter – Bathams BMW
  6. John McGuinness – Honda Racing
  7. William Dunlop – Tyco BMW
  8. Guy Martin – Tyco BMW
  9. David Johnson – Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade BMW
  10. 10. Keith Amor – Rig Deluge BMW



CP Hire Superstock Race


  1. Lee Johnston – ECR/Burdens BMW
  2. Alastair Seeley – Tyco BMW
  3. Ian Hutchinson – PBM Kawasaki
  4. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing Yamaha
  5. William Dunlop – Tyco BMW
  6. Martin Jessopp – Riders Motorcycles BMW
  7. James Hillier – Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki
  8. Keith Amor – Rig Deluge BMW
  9. Conor Cummins – Jackson Racing Honda
  10. David Johnson – Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade BMW

Bet McLean Supersport Race

  1. Alastair Seeley – Tyco by TAS Racing Suzuki
  2. Glenn Irwin – Gearlink Kawasaki
  3. Lee Johnston – ECR/Burdens Triumph
  4. William Dunlop – CD-IC Racing Yamaha
  5. Keith Amor – RigDeluge Honda
  6. Dean Harrison – Mar-Train Yamaha
  7. John McGuinness – Jackson Racing Honda
  8. James Hillier – Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki
  9. Ben Wilson – Gearlink Kawasaki
  10. Michael Rutter – Gearlink Kawasaki