2014 World Superbike Entry list released, includes Elias

Posted: 30 Jan 2014

Elias impressed at the end of last season

The provisional World Superbike entry lists have been released ahead of the season starting in just under a month at Phillip Island. Boasting twenty seven riders, this year the field is much healthier than the shrinking grids seen in years previous.  

Champion Tom Sykes is set to run the number 1 plate this year, becoming the first Brit to do so since James Toseland in 2005. In total, seven Brits will compete in the series with Christian Iddon joining the field on the Alstare Bimota BB3 (although the bike is still subject to homologation).

Toni Elias appears on the list despite no official announcement having been made on his future in the series. The Spaniard joined World Superbikes from Moto2 at the Istanbul round last year, joining Red Devils Aprilia in place of Michel Fabrizio. Elias made an impressive debut and continued to impress until the end of the season, with it looking like the move to Superbikes could save his racing career after the former MotoGP race winner had endured nothing but misery since winning the inaugural Moto2 title in 2010.

Elias’ team, Red Devils Aprilia had said they would not be racing in 2014 citing a lack of funds; however it looks as though the Italian squad may have found a solution with Elias listed on the entry list under their banner. At this stage the list remains provisional, so there is a chance Elias may not line up at Phillip Island come 23rd February but at the moment, it’s looking up for the thirty year old.

Three manufacturers will join the grid this season, two with World Superbike history in the form of MV Agusta and Bimota (again, still subject to homologation) while Erik Buell Racing will enter the series for the first time, becoming the first American manufacturer to do so.

The final private European tests get underway at the end of February, ahead of the teams heading to Australia for an official test at Phillip Island on February 17-18 before the season kicks off 21-23 February.

2014 World Superbike Entry List

1 – Tom Sykes – GBR – Kawasaki Racing Team
2 – Christian Iddon – GBR – Team Alstare Bimota EVO*
7 – Chaz Davies – GBR – Ducati Superbike Team
9 – Fabian Foret – FRA – MAHI Team Racing India Kawasaki EVO
10 – Imre Toth – HUN – BMW Team Toth
11 – Jeremy Guarnoni – FRA - MRS Kawasaki EVO
20 – Aaron Yates – USA – Team Hero EBR
21 – Alessandro Andreozzi – ITA – Pedercini Kawasaki EVO
22 – Alex Lowes – GBR – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
23 – Luca Scassa – ITA – Pedercini Kawasaki EVO
24 – Toni Elias – ESP – Red Devils Roma Aprilia
32 – Sheridan Morais – Team Grillini Kawasaki EVO
33 – Marco Melandri – ITA – Aprilia Racing
34 – Davide Giugliano – ITA – Ducati Superbike Team
44 – Davide Salom – ESP – Kawasaki Racing Team EVO
50 – Sylvain Guintoli – FRA – Aprilia Racing Team
52 – Sylvain Barrier – FRA – BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team EVO
56 – Peter Sebestyen – HUN – BMW Team Toth EVO
58 – Eugene Laverty – IRL – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
59 – Niccolo Canepa – ITA – Althea Ducati EVO
65 – Jonathan Rea – GBR – PATA Honda
71 – Claudio Corti – ITA – Yakhnich Motorsport MV Agusta
76 – Loris Baz – FRA – Kawasaki Racing Team
84 – Michel Fabrizio – ITA – Team Grillini Kawasaki EVO
86 – Ayrton Badovini – ITA – Team Alstare Bimota EVO
91 – Leon Haslam – GBR – PATA Honda
99 – Geoff May – USA – Erik Buell Racing

Learn more about Superbike Insurance here. Or, to comment on this article  or !

Latest Racing News
  • BSB Brands Hatch TV Times_thumb
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • World Superbikes - Weekend TV Times - Argentina_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • new_bsb_supersport_rules_01
    Shake-up for 2022 British Supersport class confirmed
  • austin_motogp_tv_times
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!