WSBK Round 5 - Donington

Posted: 13 May 2012

Race 1: One-two for BMW

The opening race at the fifth round of the Superbike World Championship at Donington Park has been won by Italian Marco Melandri, with BMW team-mate Leon Haslam claiming second place. It was the German manufacturer’s maiden victory in the series.

Haslam took the lead from the start – the Derbyshire rider feeling right at home at the Leicestershire circuit. However, a mistake on lap four enabled fellow British rider Tom Sykes to take the lead. Place swapping ensured between the two Brits, with Haslam retaking the lead until another rookie error towards the end of the race enabled team-mate Melandri to slip through to take a comfortable win.

Max Biaggi currently leads the championship by one point ahead of Sykes after a fifth place finish, while reigning World Champion Carlos Checa finished sixth.

1. Marco Melandri
2. Leon Haslam
3. Tom Sykes
4. Jonathan Rea
5. Max Biaggi
6. Carlos Checa
7. Davide Giugliano
8. Sylvain Guintoli
9. Leon Camier
10. Michel Fabrizio

Race 2: Another victory for Rea

Ulsterman Jonathan Rea has won the eventful second race at Donington Park for the fifth round of the 2012 Superbike World Championship.

Although he was fourth at the start of the final lap behind Leon Haslam, Marco Melandri and Max Biaggi, an aggressive battle between two of the riders was bubbling up front. At the final corner, Italian Melandri tried to pass his team-mate Haslam, but ran too wide, pushing Haslam slightly wide in the process.

Rea saw his opportunity to pass and went for it, but Haslam tightened his line, touching Rea’s Ten Kate Honda. As a result, Haslam collided with Melandri and they crashed out of contention.

Following the collision, Max Biaggi finished second, while Yorkshireman Tom Sykes finished third. Reigning Champion Carlos Checa crashed out at the first corner when he touched Eugene Laverty’s rear wheel.

1. Jonathan Rea
2. Max Biaggi
3. Tom Sykes
4. Leon Camier
5. Sylvain Guintoli
6. Ayrton Badovini
7. Chaz Davies
8. Loris Baz
9. Peter Hickman
10. Hiroshi Aoyama

Latest Racing News
  • isle of man tt races
    Major changes confirmed for the Isle of Man TT Races
  • german_motogp
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • isle_of_man_tt_2022
    TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2022
  • World Superbike Round 3 TV Coverage_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times