WSBK Round 3 - Assen

Posted: 22 Apr 2012

Race 1: Debut victory for Guintoli

There were celebrations all round at Assen, The Netherlands today as Sylvain Guintoli scooped his first ever Superbike World Championship win in an accident-plagued first race. A multi bike crash meant that the opening race of the day had to be run in two parts.

Following the restart, Effenbert Liberty Ducati rider Guintoli battled his way from the second row of the grid, through the field, securing the lead with two laps remaining. Factory Ducati rider Davide Giugliano finished second after making a move on team-mate Carlos Checa, who finished the race in third position.

Leon Haslam and Jonathan Rea both crashed out of contention in laps one and two respectively, while fellow Brits Leon Camier and Tom Sykes were also forced to retire from the race. The accident-riddled event was eventually red-flagged and the result declared due to the onset of torrential rain.

1. Sylvain Guintoli
2. Davide Giugliano
3. Carlos Checa
4. Max Biaggi
5. Eugene Laverty
6. Michel Fabrizio
7. Jakub Smrz
8. Niccolo Canepa
9. Marco Melandri
10. Leandro Mercado

Race 2: Rea takes first race win

Ulsterman Jonathan Rea has taken his first race win of 2012 during the second Superbike World Championship race at Assen, The Netherlands, today. With a drying track surface causing uncertain conditions, tyre choice was critical ahead of the race. Ten Kate Honda rider Rea’s hard slick tyre choice paid dividends towards the end of the race, but not everyone chose this well.

Although Jakub Smrz took the lead from the at the start of the race, the Effenbert Liberty Ducati rider’s intermediate tyres deteriorated during the closing stages of the race – enabling Rea and eventual second place man Sylvain Guintoli to pass. Smrz crashed out of contention after running off the track, allowing Eugene Laverty to enter the fray for third place. 

Meanwhile, reigning World Champion Carlos Checa chose to pit after lap three in order to change his tyres to slicks, but when he rejoined the race it was too late to make up any ground on the rest of the field and he finished the race in a lowly 17th position.

1. Jonathan Rea
2. Sylvain Guintoli
3. Eugene Laverty
4. Marco Melandri
5. Leon Haslam
6. Tom Sykes
7. Ayrton Badovini
8. Max Biaggi
9. Davide Giugliano
10. Michel Fabrizio

Latest Racing News
  • World Superbikes Round 5 Assen TV Times_Thumb2
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • motogp_assen
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • isle of man tt races
    Major changes confirmed for the Isle of Man TT Races