WSBK Round 12 - Nurburgring

Posted: 10 Sep 2012


Max Biaggi has clinched victory at the 12th round of the 2012 World Superbike series at the Nurburgring this weekend, after a mistake by BMW’s Marco Melandri left him out of contention. Biaggi’s win also means that he now leads the overall championship standings by more than six points. 

Third placed man Melandri ran wide on lap five, crashing out of the race and leaving Tom Sykes and Biaggi at the front of the field. However, although Kawasaki rider Sykes had led the race from the off, he began to lose pace at half race distance and was unable to hold off the challenges from 2010 Champion Biaggi.

Meanwhile, Northern Irishman Eugene Laverty and Welshman Chaz Davies began their fight for podium honours, passing Sykes on the way up the field. Current WSBK Champion Carlos Checa finished 12th after a minor crash on the second lap, while Jonathan Rea, Davide Giugliano and Loris Baz also succumbed to the gravel.

Race one result

1. Max Biaggi  
2. Eugene Laverty
3. Chaz Davies
4. Tom Sykes
5. Leon Camier
6. Sylvain Guintoli
7. Leon Haslam
8. Lorenzo Zanetti
9. Ayrton Badovini
10. Hiroshi Aoyama


Chaz Davies has scooped his first ever World Superbike Championship victory in the second race at the Nurburgring this weekend. The Welshman got a fantastic start off the line at the German circuit, joining other title contenders Tom Sykes and Marco Melandri at the front of the field.

Following his race one victory, Biaggi was hoping to take the double win, until he crashed on the opening lap. Although the Italian former World Superbike Champion managed to remount, he was last in the order, but nevertheless managed to work his way back through the pack to finish a respectable 13th at the chequered flag.

After BMW’s Marco Melandri crashed out of the second race, Davies was promoted to first position and he was able to pull out a comfortable advantage on the chasing pack. Davies held on to the lead until the chequered flag, with Eugene Laverty and Leon Camier finishing second and third respectively.

Race two result

1. Chaz Davies
2. Eugene Laverty
3. Leon Camier 
4. Jonathan Rea
5. Tom Sykes
6. Carlos Checa 
7. Davide Giugliano 
8. Loris Baz
9. Ayrton Badovini 
10. Sylvain Guintoli