WSBK Round 11 - Moscow

Posted: 27 Aug 2012


This weekend in Russia proved to be a winning one all-round for British rider Tom Sykes. As well as clinching victory at the inaugural Superbike World Championship race at the new Moscow Raceway circuit, he also signed a new year-long deal with the Kawasaki Racing Team for the 2013 season.

On the track, Sykes had been looking strong all weekend and had a brilliant start to the 26-lap race, which took place in damp conditions. A confident performance meant that he was relatively unchallenged throughout the race, winning by more than eight seconds and securing a well-deserved 25 championship points.

Meanwhile, the battle for second place raged on between a number of riders including fellow Brits Eugene Laverty, Leon Haslam, Chaz Davies and Jonathan Rea. However, a combination of factors meant that the podium position eventually went to BMW’s Marco Melandri, while current championship leader and Superbike veteran Max Biaggi finished third.  

Race one result

1. Tom Sykes
2. Marco Melandri
3. Max Biaggi
4. Eugene Laverty
5. Michel Fabrizio
6. Leon Haslam
7. Niccolo Canepa
8. Lorenzo Zanetti
9. John Hopkins
10. David Salom


After a well-deserved first race win, Tom Sykes was on track to do the double at the Moscow Raceway circuit. However, it wasn’t meant to be as BMW’s Marco Melandri clinched his sixth race victory of 2012 with a stunning ride. The Italian now leads the Superbike World Championship standings by 18.5 points.

However, Brit Sykes did manage another strong finish – claiming second place on the rostrum – after fighting hard with fellow Brits Eugene Laverty and Jonathan Rea towards the end of the race. Twenty-five-year-old Chaz Davies emerged as the eventual third place man though, after capitalising on a crash involving Laverty and Rea on the last lap, which left them both out of contention for podium honours.

Race two result
1. Marco Melandri
2. Tom Sykes
3. Chaz Davies
4. Carlos Checa
5. Leon Camier
6. Davide Giugliano
7. Jonathan Rea
8. Ayrton Badovini
9. Loris Baz
10. Lorenzo Zanetti

Latest Racing News
  • isle of man tt races
    Major changes confirmed for the Isle of Man TT Races
  • german_motogp
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • isle_of_man_tt_2022
    TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2022
  • World Superbike Round 3 TV Coverage_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times