Rossi takes first pole position since Le Mans 2010

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 08 Nov 2014

Rossi took his first pole in four years

Valentino Rossi has taken his first MotoGP pole position in over four years. The ‘Doctor’ stormed to pole this afternoon in Valencia with a time of 1’30.843 ahead of Ducati’s Andrea Iannone and the Repsol Honda of Dani Pedrosa.

After topping all four free practice sessions, World Champion Marc Marquez was a clear favourite for pole and looked on course to take it until he low-sided his RC213V at turn four with two minutes of the session remaining.

This left Iannone in pole position until Rossi’s final lap saw him shoot to the top of the timesheets. Only Dani Pedrosa was running pace strong enough to topple the Italian, but his lap disappeared in the final sector and the Spaniard remained third.

Tomorrow will mark the first time Valentino Rossi has started in pole position since Le Mans in 2010, the round before he broke his leg at Mugello. It is also his 50th premier class pole.

Jorge Lorenzo will line up on the second row ahead of Marquez and Pol Espargaro. Britain’s Bradley Smith and Cal Crutchlow will start seventh and eighth respectively while Scott Redding just missed out on Q2, qualifying 14th overall.


  1. V. ROSSI - Movistar Yamaha
  2. A. IANNONE - Pramac Ducati
  3. D. PEDROSA - Repsol Honda
  4. J. LORENZO - Movistar Yamaha
  5. M. MARQUEZ - Repsol Honda
  6. P. ESPARGARO - Tech 3 Yamaha
  7. B. SMITH - Tech 3 Yamaha
  8. C. CRUTCHLOW - Ducati Team
  9. A. DOVIZIOSO - Ducati Team
  10. S. BRADL - LCR Honda


Latest Racing News
  • Eight days of digital content across 6th – 13th June during what would have been Isle of Man TT race week
    ‘Lock-In’ Isle of Man TT 2020 details announced
  • As the British Superbike Championship confirms the continued suspension of event permits, Snetterton is the latest round to be postponed.
    BSB update: 2020 calendar due early June
  • Official: 2020 Classic TT Cancelled
    2020 Isle of Man Classic TT Cancelled | OFFICIAL
  • The reigning Isle of Man TT lap record holder said about the Classic TT, “it’s definitely worth me looking at doing it”, if it goes ahead.
    Hickman keen on the Classic TT