Pedrosa victory in Germany

Posted: 09 Jul 2012

Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa has clinched victory at the eighth round of the MotoGP at Sachsenring, Germany this weekend. A race-long battle with his team-mate Casey Stoner ended with the reigning champion crashing out of contention at the penultimate corner, giving the Spaniard the advantage at the chequered flag.

From his third place qualifying position, Pedrosa got the holeshot – but Australian Stoner (who held pole position) was hot on his heels from the off. Swapping and changing of positions at the front of the field commenced, however, Pedrosa finally regained his lead on the 19th lap. He also set the fastest lap of the race.

Stoner went on to lose his front end on the final lap, giving way to Jorge Lorenzo, who now leads the 2012 championship. Andrea Dovizioso also benefited from Stoner’s retirement from the 30-lap race, as he was able to clinch the third step of the rostrum at the chequered flag.

Meanwhile, Bennetts-supported Cal Crutchlow had looked set to claim another fantastic top five finish at the German round. However, after running off the track on lap 26, the popular Brit dropped right down to 11th position – however, making up some ground by the finish line to claim eighth. He is now fifth in the championship overall.

MotoGP Sachsenring results
1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Ben Spies
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Alvaro Bautista
8. Cal Crutchlow
9. Hector Barbera
10. Nicky Hayden

Championship standings after Sachsenring
1. Jorge Lorenzo, 160
2. Dani Pedrosa, 146
3. Casey Stoner, 140
4. Andrea Dovizioso, 92
5. Cal Crutchlow, 85

Latest Racing News
  • THUMB_2019_Isle_of_Man_TT_Lightweight_TT_025
    Lightweight Rules Shakeup | Isle of Man TT
  • 2021 Bennetts British Superbikes Calendar Announced_thumb
    British Superbike Calendar 2021
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage 2020 | Where & how to watch!
  • Bennetts Rewards members ask the questions to championship challengers Brookes, Iddon, G.Irwin, O’Halloran and Taz Mackenzie
    VIDEO Interview | 2020 BSB Final Five