Shane Byrne crowned 2014 British Superbike Champion

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 19 Oct 2014

Byrne takes his fourth British Superbike title

Shane Byrne stormed to a dominant victory in the second race at Brands Hatch to clinch a record fourth British Superbike title, with title rival Ryuichi Kiyonari watching from the sidelines after breaking his collarbone in practice on Saturday morning.

All the Kent man needed was to finish fourth but doubt was cast over whether he’d do it as he found himself outside the top ten in the opening stages in tricky conditions.

Gaining confidence, Byrne pushed on through the pack, taking fifth from team-mate Stuart Easton on the sixth lap. Two laps later the champion-would-be passed Halsall Kawasaki’s Jon Kirkham to secure that all-important fourth place before slipping past Dan Linfoot to sit third.

With Howie Mainwaring and James Ellison battling for the lead, it didn’t take Byrne long to barge his way past. Despite a couple of attempted passes from Mainwaring, Byrne maintained his lead to secure his fourth title in style.

Ellison and Mainwaring completed the podium. Josh Brookes finished fourth to keep his hopes of taking fourth in the championship alive ahead of Stuart Easton and Tommy Bridewell. Jon Kirkham, James Westmoreland and John Hopkins rounded out the top ten.

Byrne’s title comes after an impressive 22 podiums across the season, including nine victories.

For Race 1 Results click here.

Race 2 Result

  1. S. BYRNE – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
  2. J. ELLISON – Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki
  3. H. MAINWARING – Quattro Plant Kawasaki
  4. J. BROOKES – Milwaukee Yamaha
  5. S. EASTON – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
  6. T. BRIDEWELL – Milwaukee Yamaha
  7. J. KIRKHAM – Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki
  8. D. LINFOOT – Quattro Plant Kawasaki
  9. J. WESTMORELAND – Buildbase BMW
  10. J. HOPKINS – Tyco Suzuki



Latest Racing News
  • WSBK TV Times Round 10 Jerez_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • Bennetts BSB TV Times Round 9 Oulton Park_thumb
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • Yamaha McAms 60th Anniversary BSB Livery BSB_thumb
    Yamaha’s special 60th anniversary racing livery and parade
  • MotoGP TV Times Round 14 Misano_thumb2
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!