Byrne wins final race as Bridewell clinches third

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 19 Oct 2014

Byrne closed off the season with a 10th victory

Shane Byrne celebrated winning the British Superbike title with his second victory of the day this afternoon ahead of a jubliant James Ellison and Milwaukee Yamaha's Tommy Bridewell, whose third position was enough to vault past team-mate Josh Brookes in the overall title standings.

Byrne took the holeshot in what was the only dry race of the weekend from the Milwaukee Yamahas of Brookes and Bridewell.  Brookes snuck into lead into Stirlings on the third lap but Byrne fought back into Clearways pushing Brookes wide, the Aussie losing two positions and closing the pack up back to Stuart Easton in fifth.

Bridewell hit the rear end of Byrne into Druids promoting Ellison to second ahead of Brookes. A mistake for Byrne coming out of Surtees saw Ellison take the lead on the eighth lap. Byrne regrouped and shot back into the lead at Hawthorns on the following lap.

Tommy Bridewell slipped into second place into paddock hill at the start of the twelfth lap as a charging Howie Mainwaring crashed out.


A piece of advertising hoarding on the start finish straight brought the safety car out for two laps. Byrne bunched the pack up into clearways before shooting into paddock hill bend, with Josh Brookes losing out to Stuart Easton in the kerfuffle.

James Ellison retook second place from Tommy Bridewell on the sixteenth lap into Hawthorns with Byrne unable to get away at the front.

It was looking like it would be an intense final three laps but a crash for Aaron Zanotti and Christophe Ponsson brought out the red flag declaring Byrne the victor.

Ellison finished second ahead of Bridewell, who clinched third in the championship from his team mate. Stuart Easton’s fourth placed secured him the British Superbike Riders’ Cup. Josh Brookes and Dan Linfoot rounded out the top six.

Race 3 Result

  1. S. BYRNE – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
  2. J. ELLISON – Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki
  3. T. BRIDEWELL – Milwaukee Yamaha
  4. S. EASTON – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
  5. J. BROOKES – Milwaukee Yamaha
  6. D. LINFOOT – Quattro Plant Kawasaki
  7. J. KIRKHAM – Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki
  8. J. HOPKINS – Tyco Suzuki
  9. P. HICKMAN – RAF Reserves Honda
  10. C. WALKER – Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki

Final Championship Standings

  1. Shane Byrne – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - 682
  2. Ryuichi Kiyonari – Buildbase BMW Motorrad - 620
  3. Tommy Bridewell – Milwaukee Yamaha - 587
  4. Josh Brookes – Milwaukee Yamaha - 584
  5. Dan Linfoot – Quattro Plant Kawasaki - 577
  6. Chris Walker – Lloyds British Gbmoto Kawasaki
  7. Stuart Easton – Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki – RIDERS’ CUP CHAMPION
  8. James Ellison – Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki
  9. Josh Waters – Tyco Suzuki
  10. John Hopkins – Tyco Suzuki

Latest Racing News
  • MotoGP TV Times - Round 16 Emilia Romagno_thumb
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • BSB Brands Hatch TV Times_thumb
    British Superbikes TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • World Superbikes - Weekend TV Times - Argentina_thumb
    WSBK on TV: Race Schedule & TV Times
  • new_bsb_supersport_rules_01
    Shake-up for 2022 British Supersport class confirmed