BSB Round 8 – Cadwell Park

Posted: 27 Aug 2012


Tommy Hill has won the opening race at the eighth round of the British Superbike Championship at Cadwell Park today. The Swan Yamaha rider took the holeshot from his front row qualifying position, leading the other BSB frontrunners including Alex Lowes and Michael Laverty into Coppice.

However, Hill didn’t have an easy ride at the Lincolnshire circuit, as he experienced continual pressure from the two Honda riders. Lowes remained in close contention with Hill throughout the race to score second – his maiden podium place finish – while Laverty completed the podium in third.  

Meanwhile. a battle for fourth place ensued between Danny Buchan and Jon Kirkham, with MSS Bathams Kawasaki rider Buchan just clinching the advantage at the chequered flag.

Cadwell Park race one result

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
  2. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +2.753s
  3. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +3.628s
  4. Danny Buchan (MSS Bathams Kawasaki) +5.529s
  5. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Honda) +6.570s
  6. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +6.703s
  7. Karl Harris (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +7.794s
  8. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +15.051s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +15.110s
  10. Peter Hickman (Buildbase BMW) +17.055s


Reigning British Superbike Champion Tommy Hill has clinched double victory at today’s eighth round of the series at Cadwell Park. Despite battling with title rivals Michael Laverty and Josh Brookes, the Swan Yamaha rider came out on top in the second race of the day.

Once again Hill took the lead on the opening lap, but he quickly came under pressure from Samsung Honda’s Laverty, who propelled himself to the front of the pack – a position he maintained until lap nine when Hill regained the advantage. A sterling effort by Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Brookes resulted in him finishing second behind Hill, while Laverty had to settle for another third place finish at the chequered flag.

Cadwell Park, race two result

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
  2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +2.161s
  3. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +2.594s
  4. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +2.730s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +12.591s
  6. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +17.425s
  7. Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda) +17.771s
  8. Peter Hickman (Buildbase BMW) +17.850s
  9. Karl Harris (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +21.724s
  10. Michael Rutter (MSS Bathams Kawasaki) +22.100s

British Superbike Championship standings after Cadwell Park

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 316
  2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 276
  3. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 255
  4. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) 204
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) 142