BSB Round 2 - Thruxton

Posted: 15 Apr 2012


Padgetts Honda rider Ian Lowry has secured the first race win at round two of the British Superbike Championship at Thruxton today.

Defending BSB Champion Tommy Hill capitalised on his pole position to take the holeshot on the opening lap – leading MSS Bathams Kawasaki's Michael Rutter and Lowry.  However, with three laps of the race remaining, Lowry took his chance to force his way down the inside line into Campbell and maintained his position until the chequered flag. It was the first ever BSB win for Padgetts.

Hill scored second place at the finish line, but an intense battle for the third step of the podium ensued between Josh Brookes, Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Stuart Easton. Tyco Suzuki rider Brooks was the eventual third place man – more than 13 seconds behind Swan Yamaha’s Hill.

  1. Ian Lowry
  2. Tommy Hill +2.794s
  3. Josh Brookes +13.136s
  4. Shane Byrne +13.566s
  5. Stuart Easton +14.435s
  6. Michael Laverty +18.433s
  7. Jon Kirkham +18.473s
  8. Luca Scassa +19.867s
  9. James Westmoreland +24.609s
  10. Graeme Gowland +26.896s


Josh Brookes has clinched victory in race two of the second round of the British Superbike Championship at Thruxton this afternoon. Despite his seventh place qualifying position, the Tyco Suzuki rider was outside the top ten riders during the opening lap. However, after determinedly threading his way back up through the field, he had reigning BSB champion Tommy Hill firmly in his sights by the final lap of the race.

After a heroic battle with the Swan Yamaha rider, Brookes managed to steal the victory – a mere 0.664s from second placed Hill. Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki’s Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne was third over the line.

  1. Josh Brookes
  2. Tommy Hill +0.664s
  3. Shane Byrne +1.443s
  4. Stuart Easton +1.526s
  5. Ian Lowry +2.719s
  6. Luca Scassa +15.445s
  7. Jon Kirkham +15.722s
  8. Alex Lowes +16.969s
  9. James Westmoreland +17.188s
  10. Noriyuki Haga +19.011s

BSB Championship standings after Thruxton

  1. Ian Lowry 49
  2. Josh Brookes 47
  3. Jon Kirkham 43
  4. Tommy Hill 40
  5. Shane Byrne 38
Latest Racing News
  • MotoGP - Weekend schedule & TV times | BikeSocial
    MotoGP - Weekend schedule & TV times
  • Giacomo Agostini to ride iconic MV Agusta at 2019 Classic TT
    Giacomo Agostini to ride iconic MV Agusta at 2019 Classic TT
  • 2019 TT Lightweight Start List Confirmed
    2019 IOM TT Lightweight start list confirmed
  • 2019 Monster Energy Supersport Races Start List
    2019 Isle of Man TT Supersport start list confirmed