Lowes and Byrne scoop victory at Silverstone

Posted: 07 Oct 2013

Round 11, BSB, Silverstone

Could the British Superbike Championship get any closer?! In this weekend’s penultimate round of the series at Silverstone, Alex Lowes and Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne clinched a race apiece – meaning that just one point separates the duo at the top of the standings ahead of the final event at Brands Hatch in less than two weeks’ time.  

In race one at the Northamptonshire circuit, an injured Byrne led from the off, but with the title firmly in his sights, Lowes was keen to make a move on the Kawasaki man as soon as he could. The duelling duo broke away from the chasing pack and swapped and changed positions at the front of the field, but it was Lowes who came out on top – scooping his eighth win of the year – and slotting (temporarily) into the series lead. Bryne finished second, while Tommy Bridewell secured third.

In the second race, Byrne continued to battle through injury to clinch the win – once again securing his place at the top of the leaderboard with just one round to play out. Despite Lowes leading for the majority of the race, Byrne closed in on the Samsung Honda rider on the final laps – beating him to the chequered flag by just 0.012 seconds – a real photo finish! Tommy Bridewell clinched third – for a double podium – while his team-mate James Ellison secured fourth.

Championship standings after 11 rounds

1. Shane Byrne, Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, 604
2. Alex Lowes, Samsung Honda, 603
3. James Ellison, Milwaukee Yamaha, 562
4. Josh Brookes, Tyco Suzuki, 546
5. James Westmoreland, Buildbase BMW, 534
6. Ryuichi Kiyonari, Samsung Honda, 522
7. Jon Kirkham, Buildbase BMW, 193
8. Tommy Bridewell, Milwaukee Yamaha, 174
9. PJ Jacobsen, Tyco Suzuki, 167
10.Chris Walker, Quattro Plant Kawasaki, 141


Latest Racing News
  • isle_of_man_tt_2022
    TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2022
  • 2021 Bennetts British Superbikes Calendar Announced_thumb
    British Superbike Calendar 2021
  • lee hardy bsb announcement 2021
    Lee Hardy Racing signs Ryan Vickers and Lewis Rollo
  • Suzuki BSB Team 2021_thumb
    Buildbase Suzuki’s Bennetts BSB Rider Line-up Announced