Isle of Man TT start numbers confirmed

Entries for the Isle of Man TT have now closed and the start numbers have been confirmed so we’ve put together a list of who is riding for which team and in which starting position for the two 1,000cc classes – the Superbike and Senior Races - when the flag drops in June.

John McGuinness ran as no.1 in 2011, he'll do the same in 2014

20-time winner John McGuinness lines up with the number 1 plate on his Honda having reverted to running as no.3 last year in tribute to Joey Dunlop’s first Honda TT win. The 5th fastest rider around the Mountain Course ever is James Hillier and he’ll be following McGuinness on the road on board his Kawasaki.

Five different manufacturers are represented in the top six places with the returning Ian Hutchinson setting off third on his Yamaha whilst the Suzuki, Honda and BMW of Guy Martin, Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop respectively, follow in the standard 10-second intervals.

Can Guy Martin finally win a TT race?  Can Michael Dunlop add to his tally of wins?

2014 looks to be the closest yet in terms of potential winners – eleven solo riders have taken 57 wins between them and sixty-six riders have already lapped at an average speed of over 120mph!

Here are the start numbers for the top 20 and selected others:





 John McGuinness

 Honda Racing


 James Hillier

 Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki


 Ian Hutchinson

 Milwaukee Yamaha


 Guy Martin

 Tyco Suzuki


 Bruce Anstey

 Padgetts Motorcycles


 Michael Dunlop

 BMW Motorrad /Hawk Racing


 Gary Johnson

 Lincs Lifting Ltd.


 William Dunlop

 Tyco Suzuki


 Michael Rutter



 Conor Cummins

 Honda Racing


 Dan Stewart

 SMT / Wilcock Racing


 Dean Harrison

 RC Express Racing by MSS Performance   


 Lee Johnston

 East Coast Racing


 Josh Brookes

 Milwaukee Yamaha


 Steve Mercer

 Team Traction Control


 David Johnson

 Lloyd and Jones PR Kawasaki


 Dan Kneen

 BE Racing


 Cameron Donald

 Norton Motorcycles


 Ben Wylie



 Jimmy Moore

 East Coast Construction


 Jamie Hamilton

 Wilson Craig Racing


 Horst Saiger

 Taylor Lindsey Racing Honda


 Ivan Lintin 

 Taylor Lindsey Racing Honda


 Martin Jessop

 Riders Motorcycles BMW


 Peter Hickman

 Ice Valley by Motorsave


 Danny Webb

 KMR Kawasaki


 Dan Kruger

 Penz13.Com BMW Racing Team


 Ryan Farquhar

 KMR Kawasaki


 Vik de Cooremeter    

 Okidoki Racing Team


 Laurent Hoffmann

 Ice Valley by Motorsave

The complete entry list contains riders from all corners of the British Isles, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Austria, Italy, USA, France, Hungary, Portugal, Brazil, Belgium, Finland, Czech Republic and Argentina are represented.

The Formula Two Sidecar class continues with an impressive entry of over 60, nine of whom will be newcomers. 16-time winner Dave Molyneux, again with Patrick Farrance in the chair, will be looking to add to their tally.  Whilst last year's first time race winners, former World Champions Tim Reeves/Dan Sayle and Ben Birchall/Tom Birchall, as well as John Holden/Andy Winkle will provide the main threats.

Paul Phillips, TT and Motorsport Development Manager, Isle of Man Government, believes that the entry list will see records tumbling again.  He said, "Not only do we have an increasingly impressive entry list at the front of the grid, with all the leading contenders competing and significant commitment from the leading manufacturers but we also have a incredible strength in depth throughout the field.”