All-star line-up for Okells Brewery 350cc Classic TT

Author: Bike Social reporter Posted: 23 Jul 2014

Can Roy Richardson win this year's Okells Brewery 350cc Classic TT?

With a full grid of almost 90 entries, this year’s Okells Brewery 350cc race at the Classic TT  is set to be as closely contested as it is thrilling, with evenly matched machines and a stellar line up of riders offering the potential for a close race. 

Last year’s race winner Chris Palmer is absent from the field, leaving Manx GP winner Roy Richardson on the FCL Racing/Bullock Motorsport Aermacchi as one of the favourites. However, the opposition is strong with anyone in the top 20 more than competitive and capable of standing on the podium.

Honda lead the way in terms of competitors with Jamie Hamilton, Olie Linsdell (Flitwick Motorcycles), William Dunlop and Alan Oversby (both Davies Motorsport), Jamie Coward (Ted Woof), Chris McGahan (Hales Honda), James Hillier (CSC Racing), James Cowton and Nigel Moore. But the British challenge is more than considerable with AJS and Norton having numerous potential race winners – none more so than last year’s podium finishers Cameron Donald (Ripley Land Racing AJS) and Dan Cooper (Molnar Manx Norton). Cooper is joined in Andy Molnar’s team by TT winner Michael Dunlop, while another top TT runner, Keith Amor, will line up on Tony Dunnell’s rapid Manx Norton.

Italy has representation in the form of Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston (Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta), Chris Swallow (Mike Fawcett Aermacchi) and Doug Snow (Ducati Sebring). Other names expected to feature include Mark Herbertson (AJS), Alex Sinclair (Honda), Paul Coward (Honda), Dave Madsen-Mygdal (Honda), Ken Davis (Honda) and Chris Petty (Honda).

In addition, numerous 250cc machines will be spread through the field – all competing for the new Phil Read Trophy. The T20 Suzukis will be expected to be the highest placed here, particularly in the hands of Alan ‘Bud’ Jackson, Karl Fox, Tom Jackson, Jeff Ward, Maria Costello, Dan Sayle and Billy Cummins. Dave Edwards (TD1C Yamaha) and Pete Symes and David Crussell (both Kawasaki) add further variety to the 250cc field.

 or !