Victory for Rossi as Marquez bins it in Misano

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 14 Sep 2014

Valentino Rossi wins in front of his home crowd

Valentino Rossi stormed to a dominant 107th Grand Prix victory today in Misano after championship leader Marc Marquez crashed out of the race while pursuing his Italian rival.

Lorenzo took the early lead as Rossi and Marquez battled it out for second but it wasn’t long before the Doctor barged his way past his Yamaha team mate with Marquez following suit. With Lorenzo in tow, the pair continued their titanic battle, swapping positions almost every corner.

Under pressure chasing the nine times World Champion, Marquez made his first mistake of the season crashing out of contention on the tenth lap. The Spaniard remounted his Honda but could only manage a solitary point.

Marquez fell in pursuit of the Italian

Knowing Lorenzo’s harder tyre could come into play in the closing stages, Rossi kept the hammer down, responding to any progress the Spaniard made to eventually cross the line 1.5 seconds ahead to take his first victory since Assen last year.

Pedrosa completed the podium ahead of Andrea Dovizioso with Iannone fifth. The Tech 3 pairing of Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith secured sixth and seventh respectively ahead of Alvaro Bautista, Cal Crutchlow and Yonny Hernandez.  Karel Abraham enjoyed a strong ride to eleventh, classifying top open class bike with Aleix Espargaro crashing out on the final lap.

Marc Marquez now has a 74 point championship lead over team mate Dani Pedrosa with five rounds to go. Rossi’s victory sees him close up to just a point behind the second Repsol Honda.

Race Result

  1. V. ROSSI – Movistar Yamaha
  2. J. LORENZO – Movistar Yamaha
  3. D. PEDROSA – Repsol Honda
  4. A. DOVIZIOSO – Ducati Team
  5. A. IANNONE – Pramac Racing
  6. P. ESPARGARO – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  7. B. SMITH – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
  8. A. BAUTISTA – Go&FUN Gresini Honda
  9. C. CRUTCHLOW – Ducati Team
  10. Y. HERNANDEZ Pramac Racing

Championship Standings

  1. M. MARQUEZ – 289
  2. D. PEDROSA – 215
  3. V. ROSSI – 214
  4. J. LORENZO – 177
  5. A. DOVIZIOSO – 142
  6. P. ESPARGARO – 98
  7. A. ESPARGARO – 92
  8. A. IANNONE – 92
  9. S. BRADL – 74
  10. B. SMITH – 74

Latest Racing News
  • 2021 Bennetts British Superbikes Calendar Announced_thumb
    British Superbike Calendar 2021
  • isle_of_man_tt_2022
    TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2022
  • motogp_tv_times_weekend
    MotoGP TV Coverage | Where & how to watch!
  • BikeSocial_classic_tt_2021 cancelled
    2021 Classic TT and Manx GP cancelled