Whit’s Wisdom | James Whitham reviews BSB Round 2

By Michael Mann
MannOnABike BikeSocial's Web Editor. Been riding bikes since 1984 and writing about them since 2013. Commuted in Central London for 10 years, fast and smooth road rider, does a reasonable job in a track day quick group. 6 ft and 14 st.
James Whitham reviews Brands Hatch BSB Rd 2
After Brands Hatch the permanently exciting British Superbike Championship had a second and third different winner of the 2018 season and here's Eurosport's James Whitham to offer his review.

Before the dust had settled and the articulated fleet of BSB teams had rolled out of Brands Hatch, Eurosport’s James Whitham strolled down pit lane with us to talk through his observations following an action-packed second round of the 2018 Bennetts BSB Championship:

TV Highlights

A 1-hour show will be broadcast as normal on ITV4 on Wednesday at 8pm and is presented by James Haydon.

Up Next?

Round 3 takes place at Oulton Park in Cheshire over the early May bank holiday weekend, 5-7 May with racing taking place on the Monday and the current lap record holiday is Josh Brookes who set a 1m34.483s lap in 2015 on a Yamaha.

Last year’s May race saw the familiar podium visitors Leon Haslam and Shane Byrne take the honours while September’s round had Haslam and Dan Linfoot on the top step.

Race 1 Results

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati)
  2. Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.837s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +2.412s
  4. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +2.863s
  5. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +5.101s
  6. Jake Dixon (RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki) +6.673s
  7. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +7.521s
  8. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +8.037s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Movuno.com Halsall Racing Suzuki) +8.247s
  10. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +8.383s

Race 2 Results

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)
  2. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.367s
  3. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +0.598s
  4. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +7.733s
  5. Josh Brookes (McAMS Yamaha) +12.808s
  6. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +13.570s
  7. Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) +14.263s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Movuno.com Halsall Racing Suzuki) +15.248s
  9. Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +15.307s
  10. Carl Phillips (Gearlink Kawasaki) +23.240s

Championship Standings (after Round 2)

  1. Bradley Ray (Buildbase Suzuki) 79
  2. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 69
  3. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 65
  4. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) 48
  5. Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) 36
  6. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) 33


Latest News from Bike Social

Latest News

  • 2019 IOM TT Preview Video
    ► VIDEO | 2019 Isle of Man TT Preview
  • BSB2019 Round 3 Donington Preview
    Donington Park BSB Preview
  • Ducati Panigale V2 – next year’s 959 replacement spied
    Ducati Panigale V2 – next year’s 959 replacement spied
  • KTM launched 2020 enduro range
    KTM launches 2020 enduro range