BSB Silverstone - Race 1 Results


Glenn Irwin takes his maiden British Superbike race victory and race one honours at Silverstone. 

A drying track made for tricky conditions in the opening race of the weekend, with many riders on the grid gambling on tyre choices. 

Irwin who started from ninth took the lead on lap six after picking his way through a tentative field on the opening laps. 

Josh Brookes secured a calculated ride to finish second and gain 20 more valuable points for his Showdown aspirations, with John Hopkins (third) making it two Ducati’s on the podium.

Jake Dixon (fourth) piped Luke Mossey (fifth) to line and successfully cut the gap to only three points on the man who currently holds that all important final Showdown spot.

Christian Iddon, Taylor Mackenzie, Kuba Smrz, Peter Hickman and Brad Ray rounded out the top ten.

Irwin said: “I’ve wanted this race victory since I was a youngster and it’s mega to finally get that monkey off my back.”

“It’s been really tough getting back from my injury after Knockhill and my shoulder is still giving me a lot of pain. But this circuit and those conditions help me out and the Ducati was on fire.”

Despite Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne crashing out on the final lap, the championship leader has now confirmed his place in the Showdown and will start from pole position for race two tomorrow.

Race 1 Results

1 2 Glenn IRWIN GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
2 25 Josh BROOKES AUS Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing
3 21 John HOPKINS USA Ducati - Moto Rapido
4 27 Jake DIXON GBR Kawasaki - RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki
5 12 Luke MOSSEY GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki 
6 24 Christian IDDON GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad
7 6 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
8 96 Jakub SMRZ CZE BMW - Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW
9 60 Peter HICKMAN GBR BMW - Smiths Racing
10 28 Bradley RAY GBR Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki 
11 22 Jason O'HALLORAN GBR Honda - Honda Racing
12 14 Lee JACKSON GBR BMW - Smiths Racing
13 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
14 5 James WESTMORELAND GBR Kawasaki - Gearlink Kawasaki
15 40 Martin JESSOPP GBR BMW - BMW
16 4 Dan LINFOOT GBR Honda - Honda Racing 
17 7 Michael LAVERTY GBR Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
18 64 Aaron ZANOTTI GBR Yamaha - Platform Hire Yamaha
19 81 Luke STAPLEFORD GBR Kawasaki - Quattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki
20 8 Shaun WINFIELD GBR Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing
DNF 67 Shane BYRNE GBR 31:16.536 Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
DNF 9 Dean HARRISON GBR 27:52.483 2 Laps Kawasaki - Silicone Engineering Racing
DNF 18 Andy REID GBR 21:59.294 2 Laps BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad
DNF 77 James ELLISON GBR 17:27.172 2 Laps Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
DNF 91 Leon HASLAM GBR 10:09.267 3 Laps Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
DNF 46 Tommy BRIDEWELL GBR 7:56.507 1 Lap Kawasaki - Team WD-40

Championship Standings

1. Shane BYRNE (Ducati) 219

2. Leon HASLAM (Kawasaki) 209

3. Peter HICKMAN (BMW) 200

4. Josh BROOKES (Yamaha) 187

5. Jason O'HALLORAN (Honda) 183

6. Luke MOSSEY (Kawasaki) 172

7. Jake DIXON (Kawasaki) 169

8. Christian IDDON (BMW) 163

9. James ELLISON (Yamaha) 119

10. Glenn IRWIN (Ducati) 107