Byrne takes first victory of the season at Oulton Park

Shakey Ducati 2017

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne clinches his first race win of the year in race two at Oulton Park. 

An action packed second race saw Leon Haslam yet again take the whole shot into the first corner, but the race one winner would not have it all his own way in the final race of the day at the Cheshire circuit.

Byrne took the lead on lap four and broke away from the rest of the field, leaving Haslam and a resurgent James Ellison to fight it out for second and third position. 

Their podium places looked secure until a technical issue with the McAMS Yamaha saw Haslam clip the back of the R1 heading down into Lodge Corner. Both riders fortunately walked away from the spectacular crash, but would ultimately put an early end to their race weekends. 

The crash left Glenn Irwin to secure second spot on the podium and make it a PBM Ducati one, two, with Jason O’Halloran finishing a season best third. 

Tyco BMW’s Christian Iddon (fourth) was in a tight battle all race with Luke Mossey (fifth), Josh Brookes (sixth) and Peter Hickman (seventh).

Tommy Bridewell, John Hopkins and Billy McConnell rounded out the top ten. 

Shakey after the race said: “We’ve had the speed all season, we’ve just been unlucky. Hopefully we’ve got all our bad luck out of the way now and we can start racking up those podium credits and get back in the showdown.’ 

Race 2 Results:

1 67 Shane BYRNE GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
2 2 Glenn IRWIN GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team
3 22 Jason O'HALLORAN GBR Honda - Honda Racing
4 24 Christian IDDON GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad
5 12 Luke MOSSEY GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
6 25 Josh BROOKES AUS Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing
7 60 Peter HICKMAN GBR BMW - Smiths Racing 
8 46 Tommy BRIDEWELL GBR Kawasaki - Team WD-40
9 21 John HOPKINS USA Ducati - Moto Rapido
10 3 Billy McCONNELL AUS Kawasaki - Quattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki
11 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
12 96 Jakub SMRZ CZE BMW - Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW
13 14 Lee JACKSON GBR BMW - Smiths Racing
14 40 Martin JESSOPP GBR BMW - BMW
15 6 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki
16 4 Dan LINFOOT GBR Honda - Honda Racing
17 5 James WESTMORELAND GBR Kawasaki - Gearlink Kawasaki
18 8 Shaun WINFIELD GBR Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing
19 64 Aaron ZANOTTI GBR Yamaha - Platform Hire Yamaha 
DNF 77 James ELLISON GBR 20:46.251 5 Laps Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
DNF 91 Leon HASLAM GBR 20:46.417 0.166 Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
DNF 34 Alastair SEELEY GBR 21:01.961 15.544 BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad
DNF 7 Michael LAVERTY GBR 10:19.905 7 Laps Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha
DNF 33 Michael DUNLOP GBR 8:39.468 1 Lap Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki
DNF 27 Jake DIXON GBR 3:18.902 3 Laps Kawasaki - RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki
DNF 28 Bradley RAY GBR 1:54.562 1 Lap Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki 

Championship Standings:

Leon HASLAM (Kawasaki) 111
Luke MOSSEY (Kawasaki) 108
Christian IDDON (BMW) 86
Josh BROOKES (Yamaha) 67
Glenn IRWIN (Ducati) 63
Jason O'HALLORAN (Honda) 61
Shane BYRNE (Ducati) 58
Peter HICKMAN (BMW) 57
James ELLISON (Yamaha) 31
Tommy BRIDEWELL (Kawasaki) 31
Dan LINFOOT (Honda) 30
John HOPKINS (Ducati) 22
Michael LAVERTY (Yamaha) 21 
Sylvain GUINTOLI (Suzuki) 20
Jake DIXON (Kawasaki) 16 
Bradley RAY (Suzuki) 14
Jakub SMRZ (BMW) 13
Billy McCONNELL (Kawasaki) 10
Taylor MACKENZIE (Suzuki) 4
Martin JESSOPP (BMW) 2