BSB Snetterton - Race 2 Results

BSB Snetterton race

Five-time British Superbike champion Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne put on a dominate display in race two at Snetterton to take his second race win of the weekend. 

The Kent based man set a new circuit lap record on the way to his first double of the season. TAG Racing’s Josh Brookes and Jason O’Halloran grabbed the final steps on the podium. 

Fresh from his two victories at Knockhill, Jake Dixon managed to snatch fourth on the last lap from John Hopkins, with Peter Hickman (sixth) and Dan Linfoot (seventh).

Dan Linfoot, Leon Haslam, Sylvain Guintoli and championship leader Luke Mossey rounded out the top ten. 

A jubilant Shakey said after the race: “To lead every single session, set a new lap record and take the double is fantastic.”

“In the race I tried to look after my tyres and had a plan to hit the front with around six laps to go. But I saw Josh (Brookes) trying to break away so had to go earlier. I bridged the gap to him in one lap and then sat behind him for a few laps before I made my move.”

“I want to dedicate this win and the weekend to my boss Paul Bird, as we had a tough Knockhill and hope this double puts a smile on his face. We’re now heading to a run of tracks I like so it’s great to be going to them feeling this good.”

The paddock now moves onto Brands Hatch GP circuit in three weeks’ time, 21st-23rd July.  

Race 2 Results

1 67 Shane BYRNE GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team 
2 25 Josh BROOKES AUS Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing 
3 22 Jason O'HALLORAN GBR Honda - Honda Racing 
4 27 Jake DIXON GBR Kawasaki - RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki 
5 21 John HOPKINS USA Ducati - Moto Rapido 
6 60 Peter HICKMAN GBR BMW - Smiths Racing 
7 4 Dan LINFOOT GBR Honda - Honda Racing 
8 91 Leon HASLAM GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki 
9 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki 
10 12 Luke MOSSEY GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki 
11 28 Bradley RAY GBR Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki 
12 96 Jakub SMRZ CZE BMW - Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW 
13 14 Lee JACKSON GBR BMW - Smiths Racing 
14 46 Tommy BRIDEWELL GBR Kawasaki - Team WD-40 
15 7 Michael LAVERTY GBR Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha 
16 3 Billy McCONNELL AUS Kawasaki - Quattro Plant FS-3 Racing Kawasaki 
17 5 James WESTMORELAND GBR Kawasaki - Gearlink Kawasaki 
18 18 Andy REID GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad 
19 64 Aaron ZANOTTI GBR Yamaha - Platform Hire Yamaha 
20 8 Shaun WINFIELD GBR Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing 
DNF 77 James ELLISON GBR 18:08.964 6 Laps Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha 
DNF 10 Josh ELLIOTT GBR 9:21.504 5 Laps BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad 
DNF 6 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki