BSB Cadwell Park - Race 1 Results


Leon Haslam takes his seventh race victory around the Lincolnshire circuit to take race one honors. 

The Bournemouth Kawasaki rider fended off close competition from youngster Jake Dixon on the final lap to move just ten points shy of the championship lead.

Pole man Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne survived an early scare on lap two at the bottom of Mansfield corner to secure the final step on the podium.

Haslam said: “This was the meeting where I knew we could start winning races again. The weekend (through practice and qualifying) didn’t go quiet to plan, but I have a good record here that I was keen to preserve.”

“I was managing the pace at the front well, but feel there’s more to come from the bike. A few tweaks before race two and we’ll be good to go again later this afternoon.” 

Smiths Racing’s Peter Hickman had to settle for fourth place after running off track in the early stages of the race, closely followed by Honda Racing’s Jason O’Halloran (fifth) and Lee Jackson (sixth).

Michael Laverty, Christian Iddon, Tommy Bridewell and Yamaha’s James Ellison round out the top ten. 

Race 2 gets underway at 16.30. 

Race 1 Results

1 91 Leon HASLAM GBR Kawasaki - JG Speedfit Kawasaki 
2 27 Jake DIXON GBR Kawasaki - RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki 
3 67 Shane BYRNE GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team 
4 60 Peter HICKMAN GBR BMW - Smiths Racing 
5 22 Jason O'HALLORAN GBR Honda - Honda Racing 
6 14 Lee JACKSON GBR BMW - Smiths Racing 
7 7 Michael LAVERTY GBR Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha 
8 24 Christian IDDON GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad 
9 46 Tommy BRIDEWELL GBR Kawasaki - Team WD-40 
10 77 James ELLISON GBR Yamaha - McAMS Yamaha 
11 2 Glenn IRWIN GBR Ducati - Be Wiser Ducati Racing Team 
12 25 Josh BROOKES AUS Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing 
13 18 Andy REID GBR BMW - Tyco BMW Motorrad 
14 28 Bradley RAY GBR Suzuki - Buildbase Suzuki 
15 6 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki 
16 40 Martin JESSOPP GBR BMW - BMW 
17 96 Jakub SMRZ CZE BMW - Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW 
18 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Suzuki - Bennetts Suzuki 
19 5 James WESTMORELAND GBR Kawasaki - Gearlink Kawasaki 
20 8 Shaun WINFIELD GBR Yamaha - Anvil Hire TAG Racing