Peter Hickman wins Macau Grand Prix

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 23 Nov 2015

Hickman wins in Macau

Peter Hickman took a dominant win in this weekend’s Macau Grand Prix, storming to victory by over six seconds after chasing down pole man Martin Jessopp.

The race was Hickman’s first on the street circuit after being ruled unfit following qualifying in 2014. The Briggs Equipment BMW mounted rider and West Countryman Martin Jessopp, also on a BMW, set the pace throughout the race, stretching out 15 seconds on the chasing pack.

Jessopp enjoyed the initial advantage but lost ground later on as the grip from his softer tyre deteriorated, allowing Hickman to close the gap and comfortably take the win. 

Jessopp took the early lead

Michael Rutter completed an all-BMW podium on the S1000RR ahead of road racing hero John McGuinness, with Gary Johnson and Ian Hutchinson rounding out the top six. Last year’s winner, Stuart Easton, failed to finish aboard the SMT Yamaha R1. 

Macau marks Hickman’s second major road race victory this season after the Louth-based rider won a wet Ulster Grand Prix race in August. The Macau celebrations came just days after it was confirmed he would ride for the factory-supported GBmoto Kawasaki team next year.

Macau Grand Prix 2015 – Race Results

  1. Peter Hickman – Briggs Equipment BMW
  2. Martin Jessopp – Riders Motorcycles BMW
  3. Michael Rutter – BMW
  4. John McGuinness – Honda Racing
  5. Gary Johnson – BMW
  6. Ian Hutchinson – PBM
  7. Conor Cummins – Honda Racing
  8. Horst Saiger – Saiger-Heidger Team
  9. Lee Johnston – East Coast Construction
  10. David Johnson – Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade