Hickman & RAF Reserves switch to BMW power for 2015

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 15 Feb 2015

Hickman signs for RAF Reserves BMW

Peter Hickman will remain with the RAF Reserves Team for this year’s British Superbike Championship as the squad switches to BMW power.

Hickman, initially without a ride at the start of last season, took over the RAF Reserves seat left empty after the passing of Simon Andrews from the Knockhill round.

He achieved the team’s best ever result in his first round with them before going on to take a stunning wet weather win his local Cadwell Park. However, overall the outfit struggled with the outdated Honda CBR1000RR and has therefore decided to switch to BMW’s new S 1000 RR for the season ahead.

“I’m really pleased to be staying with Lee and the RAF Reserves team and it’s mega that we’re switching to BMW. I loved riding the Honda but I’m looking forward to getting a bit more power. We felt like a change was the way forward and want to be running closer to the front.”

“Kiyonari showed what can be done with the BMW last year by almost winning the championship and I’m confident that we can pull together a competitive package.”

Hickman made a name for himself last season as he became the fastest ever newcomer at the Isle of Man TT. While he’s set to compete on the roads again this year, an announcement regarding who he’ll ride for is yet to come out. However with Conor Cummins switching to the Jackson Motorsport team for the Superstock classes, it’s likely Hickman will partner up with the RAF Reserves squad on the roads too.

The British Superbike season gets underway on the 4th April at Donington Park. 

 or !

Latest Racing News
  • John McGuinness and Guy Martin
    John McGuinness: “When they told me about Guy I nearly stuck my van through the hedge!”
  • Ducati GP17
    Ducati patents variable jet exhaust system
  • Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi
    Rossi and Vinales unveil 2017 MotoGP contender
  • Alberto Puig
    Puig: Dorna set to invest in next generation of British MotoGP talent