Ellison bags pole at Brands

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 18 Apr 2015

Ellison stormed to pole at Brands

JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Ellison took pole position in the second round of the 2015 British Superbike Championship at Brands Hatch this afternoon.

After leading all but one of this weekend’s free practice sessions, the Cumbrian went on to top Q1 and Q1 before going on to shatter the lap record to take pole position in the final Q3 session ahead of Jakub Smrz and Ryuichi Kiyonari.

Billy ‘Skippy’ McConnell was ruled out of contention early in Q1 as his Smiths BMW S 1000 RR broke down at Druids.

After a strong opening round at Donington Park, RAF Reserves BMW man Peter Hickman struggled in qualifying to be knocked out in the opening stage. He wasn’t the only big-named casualty either, with Tyco BMW’s Michael Laverty also plummeting out of contention qualifying in just 25th place.

Iddon took the Bennetts Suzuki into Q3 for the first time

Christian Iddon and Jack Kennedy impressed in Q2 to make the top ten shoot-out for the first time this season at the expense of names like Tommy Bridewell and Danny Buchan.

Looking unbeatable, Ellison stormed to pole position with a lap of 45.310sec, some two tenths ahead of Ducati Racing’s Jakub Smrz on the Panigale R. Ryuichi Kiyonari rounds out the front row in third.


Josh Brookes leads row two ahead of PBM’s pairing of Shane Byrne and Stuart Easton with O’Halloran, Iddon and Parkes on row three.

British Superbikes – Brands Hatch Indy – Qualifying 

  1. James Ellison – JG Speedfit Kawasaki – 45.310
  2. Jakub Smrz – Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati – 45.567
  3. Ryuichi Kiyonari – Buildbase BMW Motorrad – 45.587
  4. Josh Brookes – Milwaukee Yamaha – 45.646
  5. Shane Byrne – PBM Kawasaki – 45.676
  6. Stuart Easton – PBM Kawasaki – 45.763
  7. Jason O’Halloran – Honda Racing – 45.823
  8. Christian Iddon – Bennetts Suzuki – 46.019
  9. Broc Parkes – Milwaukee Yamaha – 46.330
  10. Jack Kennedy – WD40 Kawasaki – 46.366
  11. Tommy Bridewell – Tyco BMW – Q2
  12. Danny Buchan – Be Wiser Kawasaki – Q2
  13. Howie Mainwaring Smart – Quattro Kawasaki – Q2
  14. Richard Cooper – Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki – Q2
  15. Robbin Harms – Motodex BMW – Q2
  16. Josh Waters – Bennetts Suzuki – Q2
  17. Chris Walker – Be Wiser Kawasaki – Q2
  18. James Westmoreland – JG Speedfit Kawasaki – Q2
  19. Martin Jessopp – Riders Motorcycles BMW – Q2
  20. Filip Backlund – Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki – Q2

 or !