Dominant double for Ellison at Brands Hatch

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 19 Apr 2015

Ellison scored the double at Brands

James Ellison has taken his first ever double victory in this weekend’s second round of the 2015 British Superbike Championship at Brands Hatch.

Ellison took the holeshot from Kiyonari and Stuart Easton. A huge crash for Christian Iddon wiped out Jack Kennedy and Robbin Harms on the first lap bringing out the safety car.

The race was resumed on lap four with Ellison leading Kiyonari and Byrne. 12 laps in and the leading duo of Ellison and Kiyonari had pulled out 1.5 seconds on Byrne in third.

Rhalf Lo Turco got in the way on lap 18, holding Kiyonari up before forcing the Kawasaki rider to lunge up the inside of the Brazilian into Druids.

The safety car came back out on lap 27 following a crash for Peter Hickman at Clearways. Three laps were added to the race as it resumed on 30/30.

Having benefited from the safety car, Byrne slipped underneath Kiyonari into Surtees with Josh Brookes also passing the Buildbase BMW on the line.

Ellison took the holeshot once again in race two, ahead of Kiyonari and Byrne. The Cumbrian immediately began to build a gap, setting a new lap record on just the second lap of the race.

Byrne took Kiyonari for second on lap five. The Buildbase BMW lunged underneath his rival at Druids on lap nine only to run wide.

The safety car came out in response to a crash for Dan Johnson at the mid-point. The race resumed with Ellison leading Byrne, Brookes and Kiyonari.

Ellison crossed the line to take his first ever double ahead of Byrne, with Brookes completing the podium once again.

British Superbikes – Brands Hatch

Race 1

  1. James Ellison – JG Speedfit Kawasaki
  2. Shane Byrne – PBM Kawasaki
  3. Josh Brookes – Milwaukee Yamaha
  4. Ryuichi Kiyonari – Buildbase BMW
  5. Jason O’Halloran – Honda Racing
  6. Stuart Easton – PBM Kawasaki
  7. Howie Mainwaring – Quattro Plant Kawasaki
  8. Broc Parkes – Milwaukee Yamaha
  9. Billy McConnell – Smiths Triumph
  10. Chris Walker – Be Wiser Kawasaki


Race 2

  1. James Ellison – JG Speedfit Kawasaki
  2. Shane Byrne – PBM Kawasaki
  3. Josh Brookes – Milwaukee Yamaha
  4. Ryuichi Kiyonari – Buildbase BMW
  5. Stuart Easton – PBM Kawasaki
  6. Tommy Bridewell – Tyco BMW
  7. Howie Mainwaring – Quattro Plant Kawasaki
  8. Danny Buchan – Be Wiser Kawasaki
  9. Billy McConnell – Smiths Triumph
  10. Jason O’Halloran – Honda Racing



  or ! 


Latest Racing News
  • Thanks to a new TV deal with Eurosport, you’ll be able to catch all the BSB coverage from the comfort of your own home. Check out our detailed TV guide here
    British Superbikes TV Coverage 2020 | Where & how to watch!
  • Click here to discover an extensive library of Bennetts BSB videos, including exclusive interviews with riders, mechanics, team bosses & BSB official crew.
    ► VIDEO | 2020 Bennetts BSB Season Preview
  • The long-awaited 2020 Bennetts British Superbike season kicked off with an official pre-season test at Donington Park. Here are the results and photos
    BSB | Donington Park pre-season test results
  • The final race of the 2020 Bennetts BSB season is 10 weeks after the first but are the teams and riders prepared for such a tightly packed championship?
    How does a shorter BSB season affect teams and riders?