Lorenzo smashes lap record to take pole in Jerez

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 02 May 2015

Lorenzo took pole in Jerez

Jorge Lorenzo will start tomorrow’s Spanish Grand Prix from pole position after a record-breaking lap in qualifying saw the Spaniard storm to the top spot.

The Spaniard's laptime of 1'37.910 is the fastest-ever two-wheeled lap around the Andalucian circuit, marking a return to form for the Catalan rider. 

Lorenzo led the early stages of the Q2 session from Pol Espargaro and injured Marc Marquez, who took a tumble in the final free practice. 

Iannone moved second fastest with four minutes to go with Rossi, Crutchlow and Marquez also looking threatening. 

A mistake in the final split saw Marquez miss out on what could have been a pole lap, the Spaniard moving into second place with just a minute remaining. 

Lorenzo hammered in another record-breaking lap to secure his pole, with Marquez and Iannone completing the front row.

Pol Espargaro leads the second row ahead of Rossi and Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro. Crutchlow will start seventh ahead of Dovizioso and Hernandez. Bradley Smith rounds out the top ten with Redding 12th.

MotoGP Jerez – Qualifying

  1. Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha – 1’37.910
  2. Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda – 1’38.300
  3. Andrea Iannone – Ducati Team – 1’38.468
  4. Pol Espargaro – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – 1’38.539
  5. Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha – 1’38.632
  6. Aleix Espargaro – Ecstar Suzuki – 1’38.638
  7. Cal Crutchlow – CWM LCR Honda – 1’38.714
  8. Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati Team – 1’38.823
  9. Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Ducati – 1’39.464
  10. Bradley Smith – Monster Tech 3 Yamaha – 1’39.491
  11. Danilo Petrucci – Pramac Dcuati – 1’39.789
  12. Scott Redding – Estrella Galicia Marc VDS – 1’39.825
  13. Hector Barbera – Avintia Ducati – Q1
  14. Maverick Vinales – Ecstar Suzuki – Q1
  15. Alvaro Bautista – Aprilia Racing Team – Q1
  16. Hiroshi Aoyama – Repsol Honda – Q1
  17. Eugene Laverty – Power Electronics Apsar – Q1
  18. Nicky Hayden – Power Electronics Aspar – Q1
  19. Stefan Bradl – Athina Forward Yamaha – Q1
  20. Karel Abraham – Cardion AB Racing – Q1

     or !
Latest Racing News
  • Alberto Puig
    Puig: Dorna set to invest in next generation of British MotoGP talent
  • John McGuinness and Guy Martin
    OFFICIAL: Guy Martin and John McGuinness to race for Honda at TT 2017
  • Josh Brookes signs for Norton
    Norton sign Aussie duo Brookes and Johnson for Isle of Man TT assault
  • Triumph 765 triple
    Triumph set to take over Moto2 engine supply… and launch an 1175cc superbike?