Sykes shatters lap record to take pole in Misano

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 20 Jun 2015

Sykes took pole in Misano

Tom Sykes stormed to his third pole position of the season this afternoon in Misano, shattering the lap record to lead the pack ahead of Leon Haslam and Davide Giugliano. 

After a difficult time in free practice, Sykes was forced to compete for his chance to shoot out for pole in SP1 and did so with no haste. The Yorkshireman charged to the fastest time of the ten-minute session, setting the quickest ever superbike lap of Misano with a 1’34.486.

The 2013 World Champion also led the way early in the second session, but Aprilia’s Leon Haslam took over at the mid-point as the pecking order became established.

Biaggi qualified fifth

Sykes then upped the game with two minutes to go, smashing the record he’d set in Superpole 1 by almost two tenths of a second to secure his third pole of the season.

Comeback King Max Biaggi tried to match it, but could only go second before being knocked off the front row by two impressive laps from Haslam and Ducati’s Davide Giugliano respectively.

Biaggi was then pushed back to fifth by championship leader Jonathan Rea who moved up to fourth. Jordi Torres completed the second row.

World Superbikes – Misano – Superpole 

  1. Tom Sykes – Kawasaki Racing Team – 1’34.214
  2. Leon Haslam – Red Devils Aprilia  - 1’34.426
  3. Davide Giugliano – Racing Ducati  - 1’34.442
  4. Jonathan Rea – Kawasaki Racing Team – 1’34.459
  5. Max Biaggi – Aprilia Racing Team – 1’34.463
  6. Jordi Torres – Red Devils Aprilia – 1’34.551
  7. Alex Lowes – Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – 1’34.811
  8. Ayrton Badovini – BMW Motorrad Italia – 1’34.881
  9. Sylvain Guintoli – PATA Honda – 1’35.061
  10. Michele Pirro – Racing Ducati – 1’35.139


Latest Racing News
  • 2019 IOM TT Preview Video
    ► VIDEO | 2019 Isle of Man TT Preview
  • BSB2019 Round 3 Donington Preview
    Donington Park BSB Preview
  • Hickman on ‘relaxing’ TT vs BSB
    Isle of Man TT 2019: Hickman on ‘relaxing’ TT vs BSB
  • Isle of Man TT 2019: Inside Dean Harrison’s workshop and mind
    Isle of Man TT 2019: Inside Dean Harrison’s workshop