Isle of Man TT 2018: Supersport Start List

Isle of Man TT 2018: Supersport Start List


The first of the two 4-lap Monster Energy Supersport TT races is scheduled to get underway at 10.45am on Monday 4th June with the second race due to take place on Wednesday 6th June at the same start time.

Honda Racing’s Ian Hutchinson and the fellow CBR600RR mounted Michael Dunlop, racing under his own MD Racing colours, have dominated the 600cc races with nine wins in this category out of the last 11 races. The due will replicate their starting positions as with the Superbike, Superstock and Senior races with the 38-year old Hutchinson off down Bray Hill at no.4 while 29-year old Dunlop sets off 20-seconds further back at no.6.

One of the pair’s biggest rivals for the top spot on the podium comes from the man setting off down the Glencrutchery Road between them, Silicone Engineering Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison who is in at no.5 while Manxman Conor Cummins is the man with the coveted number one plate on the Padgetts Honda. James Hillier once again lines up at number two on the Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki while Cummins’ teammate Lee Johnston moves to three.

Linc's Gary Johnson, riding the RAF Regular & Reserve Triumph, is off at no.7 and is the only rider other than Hutchinson and Dunlop to win a Supersport race since 2013. Peter Hickman, a double podium finisher last year on the Trooper Beer Triumph, rides the same machine again this time around and again sets off at number ten.

A total of 85 entries were accepted and the class was the most oversubscribed race in this year’s meeting. Riders from Spain, France and the Czech Republic are joined by last year’s newcomers Joey Thompson (51) and Paul Jordan (58) who return with former Pirelli National Superstock 600cc front runners Davey Todd and Adam Lyon making their debuts this time around.


Here’s the top 19 riders:


Start Position




Conor Cummins

Padgetts Honda


James Hillier

Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki


Lee Johnston

Padgetts Honda


Ian Hutchinson

Honda Racing


Dean Harrison

Silicone Engineering Kawasaki


Michael Dunlop

MD Racing Honda


Gary Johnson

RAF Regular & Reserve Triumph






Peter Hickman

Trooper Beer Triumph


Josh Brookes

McAMS Yamaha


Martin Jessopp

Riders Motorcycles Triumph



Michael Rutter



David Johnson



Jamie Coward

PRez Racing Yamaha





Ivan Lintin

Dafabet Devitt Racing Kawasaki


James Cowton

McAdoo Racing Kawasaki


2017 RACE 1 TOP 5:

1. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing Carl Cox Yamaha

2. James Hillier – JG Speedfit Kawasaki +13.244

3. Peter Hickman – Smiths Trooper Triumph +12.768

4. William Dunlop – IC Racing Yamaha +9.427

5. Ian Hutchinson – McAMS Yamaha +26.128




Latest News from Bike Social

Latest News

  • Kawasaki has confirmed a radar-equipped bike for 2021. H2SX is favourite to get the system.
    Radar cruise control for next Kawasaki H2SX?
  • Max Biaggi aiming to take world speed record on Voxan Wattman next year
    Voxan’s electric speed record bike revealed
  • With the announcement that MV Agusta’s limited edition Rush is now in production for June delivery not to mention now TVS-owned Norton looking for staff to build its V4, one of the most often asked, hotly contested and debated motorcycling questions of all – ‘What’s the fastest production bike in the world?’ rises its head yet again.
    Top 10 bikes with the highest power to weight ratio – ever!
  • Around the world lap record holder, Nick Sanders, choses his favourite ten roads to ride on and there’s Google Maps links too
    Top 10 motorcycle rides/routes in the world | + Download maps