Guy Martin dominates Southern 100 races

Author: Oli Rushby Posted: 10 Jul 2015

Martin stormed to his third consecutive S100 championship

Guy Martin returned to winning ways at this year’s Southern 100, taking two out of three 1000cc victories and securing his third solo championship win in as many years. 

Doubt was cast over this year’s racing as inclement weather wiped out the first two days of the meeting, but an improvement for Wednesday saw a revised schedule get underway. 

Martin wasted no time in the Ellan Vannin Fuels Senior race, shooting straight to the front closely followed by Michael Dunlop on the MD Racing BMW. The pair soon gapped third placed Dean Harrison to battle for the lead, with Martin crossing the line just a tenth ahead of Dunlop.

Martin was only beaten once at the event

The Tyco BWM man looked to be on for his second win of the week in the Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000cc, leading every lap only to be pipped on the line with Dunlop taking victory by 0.008seconds.

Dunlop rode well in the Solo Championship race too, only to fall in the final stages leaving Martin to cruise to his third successive solo championship victory. Manxman Dan Kneen took second ahead of Ivan Lintin in third. 

Seamus Elliott took victory in the first 600cc race ahead of Russ Mountford and Dan Kneen, who also finished on the podium in the second race behind Ivan Lintin and Dean Harrison.


Ellan Vannin Fuels Senior Race

  1. Guy Martin – Tyco BMW
  2. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing BMW
  3. Dean Harrison – Mar-Train Yamaha
  4. Dan Kneen – Padgetts Honda
  5. Ivan Lintin – RC Express Kawasaki
  6. James Cowton – Honda
  7. Jamie Coward – Honda
  8. Billy Redmayne – Suzuki 750
  9. Anthony Redmond Suzuki
  10. Michael Russell – Honda 


Corlett’s Trophies 600/1000cc

  1. Michael Dunlop – MD Racing BMW
  2. Guy Martin – Tyco BMW
  3. Dean Harrison – Mar-Train Yamaha
  4. Dan Kneen – Padgetts Honda
  5. Ivan Lintin – RC Express Racing Kawasaki
  6. Russ Mountford – Kawasaki
  7. Jamie Coward – Honda
  8. Mark Goodings – Kawasaki
  9. Seamus Elliott – 600cc Yamaha
  10. James Cowton – 600cc Honda


Manx Gas Solo Championship Race

  1. Guy Martin – Tyco BMW
  2. Dan Kneen – Padgetts Honda
  3. Ivan Lintin – RC Express Kawasaki
  4. Russ Mountford – Kawasaki
  5. James Cowton – Honda
  6. Jamie Coward – Honda
  7. Mark Goodings – Kawasaki
  8. Billy Redmayne – 750 Suzuki
  9. Mark Parrett – BMW
  10. Michael Russell 



Latest IOM TT News
  • Michael Dunlop
    Dunlop to race Gilera in McIntyre tribute Classic TT
  • James Hillier on the soon-to-be disqualified Kawasaki 750
    Classic TT: when is a classic not a classic? The official line following the disqualifications.
  • (l-r) Hillier, Dunlop and Harrison, the top 3 finishers in Superbike Classic TT, all under 33. Harrison and Hillier were later disqualified.
    Young racers embrace Classic TT
  • Michael Dunlop on the Suzuki at Creg ny Baa
    Classic TT 2016: Dunlop smashes lap record and takes Superbike win