Guintoli and Laverty clinch victories in WSBK season opener

Posted: 25 Feb 2013

The inaugural round of the 2013 World Superbike Championship kicked-off at Phillip Island this weekend, with factory Aprilia riders Sylvain Guintoli and Eugene Laverty dominating the field.

In race one, it was Ulsterman Laverty who clinched the holeshot – leading the pack for much of the first half of the race. However, team-mate Guintoli was never far behind, and managed to overtake Laverty on the 14th lap.

With the first two places of the podium decided, the battle for third raged on between Michel Fabrizio, Leon Haslam, Carlos Checa and BMW team-mates Chaz Davies and Marco Melandri. However, an incident involving Checa and Melandri at mid-race point left Fabrizio and Davies clear to claim third and fourth spots respectively.  

It was another Aprilia domination in race two – this time with Laverty taking the win from Guintoli. Despite a cat and mouse chase between the two for the majority of race distance, the young Ulsterman pulled out a new lap record to secure the victory. Melandri made up for his DNF in race one by claiming the third step of the podium, while Fabrizio and Brit Tom Sykes achieved fourth and fifth places in race two respectively.

Checa was injured as a result of his collision with BMW’s Melandri in race one, and was transferred to hospital on the mainland for further check-ups, therefore was unable to start race two.

Race 1 result
1. S Guintoli
2. E Laverty +1.352
3. M Fabrizio +1.359
4. C Davies +5.702
5. T Sykes +5.753
6. L Baz +6.769
7. L Haslam +6.830
8. J Rea +17.944
9. L Camier +19.152
10. M Neukirchner +26.557

Race 2 result
1. E Laverty
2. S Guintoli +0.418
3. M Melandri +1.382
4. M Fabrizio +2.282
5. T Sykes +11.545
6. D Guigliano +12.508
7. J Cluzel +17.330
8. J Rea +17.339
9. L Camier +19.886
10. L Haslam +19.996

Latest Racing News
  • BikeSocial have a signed copy of Seeing Red’s stunning 2019 Bennetts BSB season review. Here’s how to get your name in the hat…
    WIN a BSB season review book - signed by Scott Redding!
  • 23-time TT winner, John McGuinness, returns to the road racing scene for 2020 on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki
    McGuinness confirms Kawasaki Isle of Man TT ride
  • GALLERY – RST Superbike Race 1 (2019)
    CONFIRMED - TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2020
  • James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
    James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200