Marc Marquez fends off Lorenzo to win at Silverstone

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 31 Aug 2014

Marquez didn't let Lorenzo get his way

Marc Marquez bagged his eleventh race victory of the season at Silverstone this afternoon, fending off an attack from Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo. Scott Redding finished top Brit crossing the line in tenth place.

Marquez was strong off the line but it was Lorenzo piling into the first corner in the lead. A decent start from Aleix Espargaro saw the open Yamaha slip into third.

Having started well from the first row, Andrea Dovizioso took third from Espargaro by the end of the first lap. Valentino Rossi also got a strong start to latch onto the rear end of Dovizioso, the Italian passing his compatriot for the first time on lap four but Dovizioso immediately fought back before Rossi secured the move a lap later.

Britain’s Bradley Smith made a strong start to the race, fighting hard with Andrea Iannone in the early stages before retiring with technical problems on the tenth lap.

With Lorenzo and Marquez having pulled a gap, Rossi, Pedrosa and Dovizioso were fighting it out for the final podium spot. Pedrosa went underneath Rossi into the eighth lap but couldn’t hold it too long, losing out to both Rossi and Dovizioso in the following laps.

Lorenzo was closer than he's been since Mugello

Marquez’s move on Lorenzo came on lap thirteen with the Spaniard then immediately gapping the Yamaha. It could have been clear cut from there had Marquez not run wide into Stowe on the fifteenth lap. He lost his rhythm a little and was sliding a lot but it didn’t take him long to get back on Lorenzo’s tail. The Yamaha man left the door open into the arena section on lap seventeen and Marquez didn‘t need inviting twice, the pair touched at Aintree but there was no way back for Lorenzo.

Marquez crossed the line seven tenths ahead of Lorenzo with Valentino Rossi securing the final podium spot in his 284th Grand Prix appearance. Dani Pedrosa passed Dovizioso in the closing stages for fourth.

Pol Espargaro took sixth ahead of Stefan Bradl, Andrea Iannone and Aleix Espargaro. Scott Redding crossed the line in a strong tenth place after his team mate Alvaro Bautista crashed out on the penultimate lap. Cal Crutchlow also finished in the points in twelfth with Camier and Laverty sixteenth and seventeenth respectively.


1)      Marc Marquez – Repsol Honda

2)      Jorge Lorenzo – Movistar Yamaha

3)      Valentino Rossi – Movistar Yamaha

4)      Dani Pedrosa – Repsol Honda

5)      Andrea Dovizioso – Ducati

6)      Pol Espargaro – Monster Yamaha Tech 3

7)      Stefan Bradl – LCR Honda MotoGP

8)      Andrea Iannone – Pramac Racing

9)      Aleix Espargaro – NGM Forward Racing

10)   Scott Redding – GO&FUN Gresini Honda

11)   Yonny Hernandez – Pramac Racing

12)   Cal Crutchlow – Ducati Team

13)   Karel Abraham – Cardion AB Honda

14)   Hiroshi Aoyama – Drive M7 Honda

15)   Alex de Angelis – NGM Forward Yamaha